The World Health Organisation has declared the COVID-19 virus a pandemic that risks the health, safety and wellbeing of the most vulnerable people in our community. We take this risk very seriously, so the National Trust has closed Miss Porter's House until 30 June 2020.
Built by the Porters in 1909, the family lived in this freestanding Edwardian terrace until 1997, when they left it to the National Trust with all its contents intact. It is now a living snapshot of pre-1950s life in Newcastle.
Miss Porter’s House is a living home, offering you a rare and privileged visit into other lives and times. Built in 1909 by Herbert Porter, the terrace was home to the Porter family until 1997. The property was left to the National Trust by Miss Hazel Porter with its contents intact, providing today’s visitors with a vivid experience of early to mid-twentieth century inner-city life in Newcastle. Miss Porter’s House is filled with 1909-1940 furnishings and personal items which tell the story of the family over more than a century.
Herbert Porter and his bride Florence Jolley moved into their new home in 1910. A gate in their backyard led to James Porter’s grocery store and it was from the accompanying yard and stables that James’ son Herbert conducted his carrier business. The young couple soon started a family, Ella was born in 1911 and Hazel in 1914. Sadly, Herbert (and his mother) fell victim to the influenza epidemic of 1919 and Florence was left to raise the two girls as a sole parent.
Today visitors to this freestanding Edwardian House Museum can view:
- 100 years of collectables
- 1909-1940 furnishings
- unique stencilled ceilings
- collections of fabrics, clothing, and craft materials
- the historic fernery and the intimate period garden
The house, grounds, interiors and contents are all intact and the property was continuously occupied by the Porter family for over ninety years.
For more information on this history of the Porter Family and the house, please see Miss Porter’s House – Local Treasures – ABC Newcastle.
Visit Miss Porter’s House
- Open to public second Sunday of each month (Feb-Dec) and Australia Day from 1pm – 4pm
- School, Tour or Community Groups any day/time by appointment.
- Tea & Tour, lunches, functions arranged on request. Minimum numbers apply.
Phone: (02) 4927 0202 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org