The World Health Organization has announced that COVID-19 (Coronavirus) is a pandemic. The virus is contagious between people and of particular risk to people with existing medical conditions, people with reduced immunity and people of advanced age.

The National Trust is a community organisation and we consider the health, wellbeing and safety of the community to be the utmost priority. With this in mind, and with the support of the Heritage Council of NSW, we have postponed the timetable for the National Trust Heritage Awards this year. This means we will delay the timing for our awards ceremony luncheon.

We are mindful that the necessary response to COVID-19 will mean that regular working patterns will also have been disrupted, so we are extending the deadline for award submissions and revised when we will announce the shortlist in all our award categories this year.


Our new timetable is as follows:

  • The new deadline for submitting event entries is 30 May 2020. The criteria that projects must have been completed by between March 2019 and March 2020 remains. Our award judges usually meet for an entire day, face-to-face, to rigorously assess each award entry. That won’t be possible this year due to the need for social distancing, so all judging will take place virtually. With this in mind, we ask for all entries, effective from 19 March 2020, to be submitted online. If you require more than six documents to be attached with your submission, please contact Jilly Clark who can provide you with WeTransfer or Dropbox access. If you only have hardcopy publications or resources, please contact Jilly Clark to arrange delivery of a copy to each of the eight judges. These will all be returned with the exception of one copy for the National Trust Archives.
  • The shortlist will be announced shortly.
  • The National Trust Heritage Awards ceremony luncheon has been rescheduled for Thursday 12 November 2020, click the link at the bottom of the page for more information and to buy tickets.

Should you have any queries please don’t hesitate to contact the National Trust’s Marketing and Events Coordinator, Jilly Clark.



The Heritage Awards are highly regarded in the industry and by entering, organisations and individuals have the opportunity to have their work recognised by their peers and the public. The awards will be presented during a ceremony at Doltone House, Pyrmont. The luncheon is one of the pinnacle events of the heritage sector and is well attended by dignitaries, businesses, media and National Trust members.

This year we are thrilled to announce our keynote speaker is Mark Pesce; a leading futurist, author, entrepreneur and innovator who has been at the forefront of the digital revolution for thirty-five years. Pesce will explore the importance of technology and ‘augmented reality’ when weaving object, place and story into a narrative, giving the world a new ‘digital depth’ and allowing our world – with all of its history – to speak for itself.

Every year entrants for the awards include councils, community groups, corporations and individuals. The entries include everything from education and research to the restoration of objects, re-vitalisation, architectural re-invigoration, documentaries, regeneration of the environment and hard-working advocacy campaigners.




The ‘Judges Choice’ award, including a National Trust plaque, will be presented to the most outstanding project of the year at the culmination of the awards ceremony.



Entries Close:                     30 May 2020
Shortlist Announced:      September 2020
Awards Ceremony:        12 November 2020

The National Trust Heritage Awards are proudly supported by the NSW Government through the Heritage Council of NSW.

Call to action section

Submit your award entry:


Book luncheon tickets: