Shortlist announced for the 2023 National Trust (NSW) Heritage Awards

The shortlist for the highly anticipated 29th annual National Trust Heritage Awards has been announced and features more than 40 rich and diverse heritage projects spanning across New South Wales.

The National Trust Heritage Awards is an annual celebration of outstanding practice, awarding excellence in conservation of Aboriginal, built, natural or cultural heritage.

‘’The diversity, scale and geographical representation was simply astounding this year and prompted rich and robust discussions between the judges’’ said Matthew Devine, Chair of the National Trust Heritage Awards Jury. Devine was joined on the judging panel by esteemed industry experts Barrina South, Caitlin Allen, Charles Pickett, David Burdon, Kathryn Pitkin AM and Lisa Harrold.

“I thank all those who entered the Awards this year and shared their important work. Congratulations to the successful shortlisted entrants’’ said Debbie Mills, CEO of the National Trust (NSW). “The sheer quality and volume of entries submitted demonstrates the passion of heritage enthusiasts from all across the state, and we look forward to showcasing an incredible selection of these next month’’.

The winners will be announced at the National Trust Heritage Awards ceremony on Friday 12 May at Doltone House in Pyrmont. The keynote speech will be from Helen Lochhead, Professor emeritus of architecture and urbanism, UNSW Sydney, and current member of the Australian Heritage Council, the Independent Planning Commission and various Planning and Design Panels across Australia.

Tickets on sale now. Would-be attendees are encouraged to secure tickets as this event typically sells out early.

The National Trust Heritage Awards are a signature event of the Australian Heritage Festival. The Australian Heritage Festival is coordinated by the National Trust and supported by the NSW Government through Heritage NSW.

The 2023 National Trust Heritage Awards Shortlist:


Aboriginal Heritage

  • bara Monument for the Eora – entered by Judy Watson, Hetti Perkins, City of Sydney, City Plan Heritage, UAP
  • Leaghur Homestead, Mungo National Park – Willandra Lakes Teaching and Learning Centre – entered by NSW National Parks & Wildlife Service
  • Transport Access Program – entered by Transport for NSW


Adaptive Re-Use

  • 80 Albion – entered by Squillace Architects
  • Cobar Sound Chapel – entered by Cobar Sound Chapel Ltd
  • Former David Jones Building – entered by City Plan Heritage & IRIS Capital
  • The Police Cottage – entered by Penrith City Council
  • Western Sydney Startup Hub (WSSH) – entered by Property and Development NSW, Department of Planning and Environment



  • Don’t Block the Rocks – entered by Millers Point Community Resident Action Group Inc. (MPCRAG)


Conservation – Built Heritage

  • 55 Livingstone Road, Petersham: Conservation and Upgrade Project – entered by Land and Housing Corporation, Department of Planning and Environment
  • Archibald Memorial Fountain – entered by City of Sydney
  • Arndell Other Barn – entered by NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service
  • Bondi Pavilion Restoration and Conservation project – entered by Tonkin Zulaikha Greer Architects
  • Callan Park Main Gates and Guardhouse – entered by Greater Sydney Parklands, Minister’s Stonework Program
  • Hotel Australasia – entered by Core Asset Development (CAD)
  • Millers Point Townhouse – entered by Design 5 – Architects
  • Restoration of the Niagara Cafe, Gundagai – entered by Luke Walton and Kym Fraser
  • Rouse Hill Estate – Woolshed Conservation Project – entered by Museums of History NSW
  • Sts Peter & Paul’s Old Cathedral – entered by Project Strategies Australia
  • ‘Ways Terrace’ 12-20 Point Street, Pyrmont: Conservation and Upgrade Project – entered by Land and Housing


Conservation – Interiors and Objects

  • Central Tablelands Collections Facility – entered by Bathurst Regional Council
  • Commer Restoration – entered by Museum of Fire
  • Green Frog Restoration – entered by Transport for NSW and Byron Bay Historical Society
  • Stations of the Cross – entered by International Conservation Services (ICS) and St Peter and Paul’s Old Cathedral, Goulburn
  • The Yellow Dress Project – entered by National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA)


Conservation – Landscape

  • Northern Rivers Rail Trail – Tweed section – entered by Tweed Shire Council
  • Toorale Water Infrastructure Project – entered by Biosis Pty Ltd


Education and Interpretation

  • History Site Study – Marrickville Metro – entered by Inner West Council – Library
  • Macquarie Pier Revitalisation and Interpretation Project – entered by Port Authority of NSW
  • Penrith Heritage Walk – entered by Penrith City Council
  • Remembered and Revisited – Victoria Theatre Newcastle – entered by Out of the Square Media, Century Venues and Gavin Patton
  • The Sound of Memories – Woodford Academy – entered by Noel Burgess


Events, Exhibitions and Tours

  • Building Bridges Emu Projection – entered by Clarence Valley Council
  • CAPTIVATE – entered by National Art School
  • Curios Shopfront Exhibition – entered by Haberfield Inner West Council Library and Haberfield Association
  • Guraban: where the saltwater meets the freshwater – entered by Hurstville Museum & Gallery (Georges River Council)
  • Mulaa Giilang: Wiradjuri stories of the night sky – entered by Orange Regional Museum
  • Rouse Hill Psychedelia – entered by Museums of History NSW
  • SHINE – Shining a Light on our Heritage and Museums – entered by Arts Mid North Coast Inc
  • Unrealised Sydney exhibition – entered by Museums of History NSW


Resources and Publications

  • CAPTIVATE Stories from the National Art School and Darlinghurst Gaol – entered by National Art School
  • First Knowledges Series: Astronomy and Plants – entered by Thames & Hudson Australia, National Museum of Australia
  • Gunyah Goondie + Wurley – entered by Thames & Hudson Australia
  • St John’s, Parramatta Burials Dataset (1790-1850) – entered by Michaela Cameron
  • Storyplace – entered by Museums & Galleries of NSW
  • The Power of Flour: A photographic history of milling in Australia + Branded: Australian Flour Bag Labels Between the Wars – entered by Paul Ashton and Jess Jennings
  • Values in Cities: Urban Heritage in Twentieth-Century Australia – entered by James Lesh


Special categories:

Individual awards including the Heritage Skills, Lifetime Achievement, Cathy Donnelly Memorial, President’s Prize and the Judges’ Choice to be announced at the National Trust Heritage Awards.


Tickets for the awards ceremony are on sale now


The National Trust Heritage Awards are proudly supported by the NSW Government through Heritage NSW.


Media contacts:

Susan Darwiche

Double Shot PR – Director

Phone: 0414 706 704



Leah Tasker

Director, Marketing and Communications

National Trust of Australia (NSW)
Phone: 0435 266 924