Volunteers and staff recognised at the 2018 Trust Honours Awards

National Trust of Australia (NSW) recognised valued volunteers and staff with the annual Trust Honours Awards on Saturday as part of the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The Trust Honours recognise individuals who have given outstanding service to the Trust. Congratulations and thank you to all of our winners.


2018 Honours Award recipients

Honorary Life Membership:

  • Elizabeth Ellis – Collections Committee
  • Caroline Parker – Women’s Committee


Meritorious Service Award:

  • Stella Downer – S.H. Ervin Gallery Advisory Committee
  • Lisa Newell – Industrial Heritage Committee / National Trust Representative to the Heritage Council
  • Richard Steele – Miss Traill’s House and Garden Management Committee
  • Sally Wickham – Central West Women’s Committee
  • Neil Wyles – Lindesay Management Committee


Voluntary Service Award:

  • Patricia Baxter – S.H. Ervin Gallery, Volunteer
  • Lesley Neuhaus – Miss Traill’s House
  • Nancy Marsden – S.H. Ervin Gallery, Volunteer
  • Thelma Scanes – Parramatta Regional Branch and the Soft Furnishings Group at Old Government House
  • Alison Arnison – Miss Traill’s House & Garden Management Committee; and Central West National Trust Open House Committee
  • Lyn Haley – Miss Traill’s House & Garden Management Committee
  • Helen Scott- Friends of Grossmann House
  • Keith Walker-Smith – Harper’s Mansion Management Committee


Trust Commendation:

  • Les Tod – Parramatta Regional Branch
  • Alan de Jong – Norman Lindsay Gallery
  • Victoria Liddicoat – Friends of Everglades House and Garden
  • Kath Marshall – Norman Lindsay Gallery, volunteer
  • Janet Scott – Norman Lindsay Gallery, volunteer
  • David Burdon – Built Heritage Conservation Committee; Heritage Awards Judging Panel and the Conservation Policies Taskforce
  • Elizabeth Burgess – Woodford Academy Management Committee
  • Angela Di Santo – Miss Porter’s House Management Committee
  • Linda Leseberg – Miss Traill’s House & Garden Management Committee
  • Toni Maher – Women’s Committee
  • Danielle Smith – Saumarez Homestead Advisory Committee


Honours Committee Discretionary Award – Outstanding Achievement for 2018:

  • Lin Henry – Education Co-ordinator/Museum Officer – Old Government House and Experiment Farm Cottage

National Trust NSW also recognised staff members for outstanding contributions with the Distinguished Service Award. This year’s award went to –

  • Ros Loftus and Dawn Giles, Joint Managers at Riversdale Homestead.