The 2021 National Trust Heritage Awards Shortlist has been announced

The National Trust (NSW) has announced the shortlist for the 2021 National Trust Heritage Awards in Sydney today.

“We received such fantastic entries this year and it was such a challenge to determine the shortlisted projects this year,” said Matthew Devine, Chair of the National Trust Heritage Awards jury. “There are a diverse range of projects and initiatives recognised this year, and they represent the full spectrum of heritage and role it plays in defining and enriching place, telling the stories of our diverse communities and connecting people.”



“On behalf of the National Trust, I have to thank our entrants this year for their stellar effort in putting forward such a high standard of projects, campaigns and initiatives, publications and exhibitions for the jury to consider for 2021,” said Debbie Mills, CEO of the National Trust (NSW). “The past year has presented its difficulties to the sector, with delays to projects and significant challenges for event and exhibition organisers. Despite this, the range of projects entered for the National Trust Heritage Awards this year has demonstrated how innovative and dedicated people working throughout the heritage sector are.”



The National Trust Heritage Awards is in its 27th year and awards projects, initiatives and individuals that demonstrate excellence in the conservation, protection, and interpretation of Aboriginal, built, natural and cultural heritage. The awards are the signature event of the Australian Heritage Festival in New South Wales and are proudly supported by the NSW Government through the Heritage Council of NSW.



Matthew Devine presided as Chair of the jury for the National Trust Heritage Awards in 2021, which includes experts in the field of Aboriginal heritage; built, cultural and landscape conservation; industrial heritage; curatorial and interpretative practice; and history. Judges on the panel included: Phil Bennett, Dr Noni Boyd, David Burdon, Miranda Firman, Siobhan Lavelle, Lisa Newell and Saneia Norton.

The 2021 National Trust Heritage Awards Shortlist

The shortlisted projects by category for 2021 are as follows:
Aboriginal Heritage
• Leagues Club Park, Gosford – entered by Hunter Central Coast Development Corporation
• Walking on Country – entered by Shoalhaven City Council


Adaptive Re-Use
• Carr Street, Coogee – entered by McGregor Westlake Architecture
• Cottage Medical, Berry – entered by JXTALL Health
• Sub Base Platypus – entered by Lahznimmo Architects
• The Sydney Retreat – entered by Bronwyn Hanna



• Mulgoa Valley – entered by Friends of Fernhill and Mulgoa Valley Inc
• Save Willow Grove – entered by North Parramatta Residents Action Group



Conservation: Built Heritage
• Alpha House Restoration, Kamay 2020 – entered by NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service
• Australian Museum Project Discover – entered by The Australian Museum and Orwell & Peter Phillips
• Greenway Window Conservation and Upgrade Project, Milsons Point – entered by Land and Housing Corporation, Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
• Lowy Institute, Sydney – entered by Hector Abrahams Architects
• Pawley Street, Surry Hills – entered by NSW Land and Housing Corporation, Department of Planning, Industry and Environment
• Restoration of Cathedral of St Michael and St John, Bathurst – entered by Cathedral of St Michael and St John, Bathurst
• Shell House as part of the Brookfield Place development, Sydney – entered by Adriel Consultancy



Conservation: Interiors and Objects
• Conservation of the Art Gallery of NSW Bas Reliefs – entered by International Conservation Services and Art Gallery of NSW
• Preserving and Promoting Australia’s Theatrical Heritage: From Storage Rooms to Performing Arts Archive and Community Performance – entered by Seaborn, Broughton & Walford Foundation
• Restoration of the Historic 1890 William Hill & Son Organ in the Hunter Baille Memorial Presbyterian Church, Annandale – by Ralph Lane OAM



Conservation: Landscape
• Spains Wharf, Kurraba Point – entered by Aspire Stone Masonry



Continuing Tradition
• George Proudman Fellowship Program – entered by Ministers Stonework Program
• Tuckombil Barn – entered by Traditional Timber Frames



Education and Interpretation
• Fairbridge Children’s Park, Molong – entered by Clouston Associates
• House Music at Your House – entered by Sydney Living Museum
• Kamay 2020 Commemorative Sculptures– entered by NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service
• Sydney Opera House, Tours Immersive Digital Experience (TIDE) – entered by Sydney Opera House
• Warrane, Sydney – entered by Trigger



Heritage Events, Exhibitions & Tours
• Carrington Road Industrial Heritage, Marrickville NSW – entered by Louisa King and Ali Wright
• The Coal Loader App – entered by North Sydney Council
• Dennis Heritage Day – entered by Museum of Fire
• Developing Sydney: Capturing Change 1900 – 1920 – entered by City of Sydney Council
• Fragile Beauty, Rich and Rare – entered by Pamela Pauline Photography
• Inherit: Old and New Histories – entered by Orange Regional Museum
• Papunya Tula: 50 Years 1971 – 2021 – entered by Utopia Art Sydney
Spring Harvest: Online Edition – entered by Sydney Living Museum
• ‘Thresholds’ by Julia Davis and Lisa Jones – entered by Sydney Trains
• Tourists Paradise – entered by Port Macquarie Museum



Heritage Resources and Publications
• Callan Park – Barnet Buildings External Fabric Maintenance Plan: An asset management and development consent document – entered by Ministers Stonework Program
• Designing a Legacy – entered by Tim Ross, Modernister Films and Production Group
• Vitalising Veteran Car Club Website – entered by The Veteran Car Club of Australia (NSW) Inc.



Individual awards including the Heritage Skills, Lifetime Achievement, Cathy Donnelly Memorial and the Judges’ Choice will be announced at the National Trust Heritage Awards ceremony on Thursday 13 May 2021 at Doltone House in Pyrmont, Sydney. Tickets are on sale now. 



Media contact:
Lyndal Stuart
Director, Marketing and Communications
Phone: (02) 9258 0113 / 0400 017 330