Project Awards

Ten categories will cover the full spectrum of heritage excellence with projects demonstrating excellence in the conservation, protection, and interpretation of Aboriginal, built, natural and cultural heritage considered.

The National Trust’s independent Judging Committee,  chaired  by Matthew Devine,  will consider all projects on merit.

Projects and initiatives of both large and small scale have historically won National Trust Heritage Awards. Small community projects involving three people to multimillion dollar adaptive reuse projects have got the gong in years gone by. Previous entries include advocacy campaigns to save theatres and parks, extensive transformations or restorations of historic buildings, events and exhibitions, public art installations that tell the story of heritage in place, and many more.

To be eligible for entry, projects must have been completed (or will be completed) between 1 March 2022 and 31 March 2023.



AboriginalFor projects that seek to promote understanding, appreciation, conservation and/or awareness of Aboriginal heritage.
Adaptive Re-UseFor projects that complement and utilise existing heritage fabric, re-purposing and new developments which are sympathetic to the traditional uses of a site and its structures and which protect the heritage integrity.
AdvocacyTo recognise the extraordinary commitment of a community group and/or individual who have pursued the protection and conservation of key heritage places, items or objects.
Conservation - Built HeritageFor projects that relate to conservation of our built heritage including capital works and repair. Such projects may include buildings, structures or sites, urban precincts, commercial items, places of worship, houses, interiors, additions, industrial heritage, infill or collections.
Conservation - Interiors and ObjectsFor projects that relate to the conservation of historic interiors and objects. Movable objects are included in this category.
Conservation - LandscapeFor projects that relate to the conservation of our landscape heritage including management and conservation. This includes natural, urban and cultural landscapes; Indigenous and non-Indigenous.
Continuing TraditionFor projects that continue tradition through new design, construction and development.
Education and InterpretationFor projects that serve to educate about or interpret our heritage in an engaging way. This may include curriculum-based educational projects and resources, and specific interpretation projects relating to a place or item.
Events, Exhibitions and ToursFor events, exhibitions and tours which emphasise and promote education, interpretation and community engagement in heritage.
Resources and PublicationsFor any resource that promotes the conservation of our heritage. This may include publications, research, websites, archaeological resources, heritage guidelines, fact sheets, field guides and heritage studies, both in print and online.



Two peer nominated categories will be recognised in 2023.

There is no fee involved in nominating for individual categories.

Related content section

Lifetime Achievement Award

For an individual who has dedicated their career to, and displayed outstanding passion for, the conservation, care, promotion and protection of New South Wales' heritage.

Heritage Skills Award

For a volunteer, teacher, professional individual or apprentice who has demonstrated the application of craft skills that have been key in repairing or adapting a heritage site.


02 9258 0142


Sitewide contact form

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.