result thumbnail

Moonta Mines Tourist Railway

sa
Departing from the platform adjacent to the Moonta Mines Museum, the Moonta Mines Tourist Railway is a guided tour of the historic Moonta Mines State Heritage Area. Featuring extensive commentary from local drivers, passengers are taken past many historic landmarks of the former mining operations, including the reservoir, ore sorting floors,
more
result thumbnail

Zelling Reserve

sa
In  2004 the Trust received Zelling Reserve from the estate of the late Mrs Sesca Zelling (1918 – 2001) a long standing member of NTSA. It was Mrs Zelling’s wish that the property to be kept “as a wildflower sanctuary to preserve native flora on the eastern end of Kangaroo
more
result thumbnail

Doris Odgers Reserve

sa
The Waikerie Branch of the NTSA manages the Doris Odgers Reserve. The reserve is situated on a ridge-top overlooking the Murray Valley, and vegetation is predominantly native pine and eucalyptus trees.  A walking trail with a magnificent view west towards the river wends its way through the trees. Numerous old
more
result thumbnail

Nurrutti Reserve

sa
Nurrutti Reserve is a small nature reserve of some 1.4ha on Kyle Road between Aldgate and Mylor. It comprises a delightful area of mixed Stringybark (Eucalyptus obliqua / E. baxteri) open forest on the banks of Aldgate Creek, part of the Onkaparinga catchment. The Reserve was gifted to the Trust
more
result thumbnail

Brinkworth Reserve

sa
The Brinkworth Reserve is on Winters Hill, 3.6 km north-west of Pt Lincoln. It was gifted to the National Trust of South Australia by Ken Brinkworth in 1968, with more pieces added over time with the last in December 1986. It is 7.74 ha of partially revegetated farmland, as well
more
result thumbnail

Malcolm Wicks Reserve

sa
Malcolm Wicks Reserve was donated to the National Trust of SA by Mr & Mrs M. Wicks and Mr & Mrs G. Nancarrow in 1979. The Reserve contains 7.9 ha of undulating land of high elevation with a good rainfall. The different aspects created by the undulations allow a variety
more
result thumbnail

HK Fry Reserve

sa
HK Fry Reserve comprises 3.6ha on Lots 63 and 65 Heath Road, Crafers, just west of Waverley Ridge Road. The steep slopes of the reserve form part of the Hills Face Zone.  It was a gift from Dr Henry Kenneth Fry in March 1959. The access track from Heath Road
more
result thumbnail

Fraser Reserve

sa
Fraser Reserve is near Waitpinga on the Fleurieu Peninsula. Only 6 hectares in total, Fraser is a triangular parcel of land straddling a steep-sided tributary of Waitpinga creek. Once part of the neighbouring Fraser farm, it was gifted to the Trust in 1964 by Mr J.G. Fraser and conserves a
more
result thumbnail

D B Mack Reserve

sa
D B Mack Reserve comprises an area of 265ha held by the National Trust of South Australia since 1965, when the property was purchased from Mr FJ Fettke. The land was initially held by the Trust under perpetual lease but has since been converted to freehold title. Mr D B
more
result thumbnail

Riverfront Cottage

sa
Riverfront Cottage is owned and operated by the National Trust of SA. This historic building was once a police stable.  The two story cottage  situated just 75m from the waters of the Murray, is self contained and offers comfortable air conditioned 3 bedrooms (upstairs) upstairs toilet, with spiral staircase access.
more Book now
result thumbnail

Petticoat Lane

sa
A Hidden treasure this unique corner of Penola, Petticoat Lane still retains  original cottages and gardens enabling the visitor to experience the 19th Century cottages and view their stories and experiences. The working herb and vegetable garden produce is  on offer to visitors for a small coin donation. Discover South Australia’s heritage places with
more
result thumbnail

Stangate House and Garden

sa
Built by Adelaide architect Eric McMichael from plans drawn up in London in 1937.
more
result thumbnail

Strathalbyn Police Station and Courthouse Museum

sa
Strathalbyn's old police station built in 1858 and features attached courthouse built in 1867.
more
result thumbnail

Streaky Bay Museum

sa
The 1901 school building displays various collections including the ìBoth Iron Lungî, and memorabilia.
more
result thumbnail

Tea Tree Gully Heritage Museum

sa
Built in 1850's in the village Steventon, operated as the Highercombe Hotel for 24 years.
more
result thumbnail

Penneshaw Maritime and Folk Museum

sa
The Hog Bay School built 1869 is now a Maritime and Folk Museum.
more
result thumbnail

The Farm Shed Museum

sa
Extensive farm machinery collection interpreted through displays covering many aspects of life on the land.
more
result thumbnail

Penola Telegraph Station and Post Office

sa
The Telegraph station was officially opened on August 13, 1860 and the Post office built in 1876.
more
result thumbnail

The Sheeps Back Museum

sa
Three-storied flour mill 1866 built by Smith and Agar for David Simpson.
more
result thumbnail

Port Elliot Railway Station

sa
The 1853 railway station is an exposed timber frame building featuring steeply pitched, corrugated-iron roof.
more
result thumbnail

Tumby Bay Branch Museum

sa
The Tumby Bay Branch Museum is housed in a circa 1950ís pre-fabricated school building.
more
Load More
loader spinner