If you wish to check if a property/site is located on a heritage register in the ACT you may search one of the following sites:


National Trust ACT Classified Places


From it’s foundation in 1979 to 2004 the National Trust ACT classified or heritage listed places deemed to be of high cultural and historical value to the heritage of the ACT. The list represents not only the human history of the ACT dating from the last 20,000 years – but also the geological history of the landscape we see around us everyday.

The aim of classification was to provide solid historical evidence for establishing the importance of each listed site and to use this evidence to advocate for their future conservation and use. A Classification by the National Trust ACT provides no legal protection.

The National Trust ACT ceased classifying places in 2004, instead nominating them to the ACT Heritage Register where, if accepted, they would be afforded a level of statutory protection under the Heritage Act 2004.

Click Here

for the list of Classified Places or call 02 6230 0533

for more information and access to the hard copy files


ACT Heritage Register


Under the Heritage Act 2004 (Heritage Act) the ACT Heritage Council is responsible for keeping a register of heritage places and objects in the ACT.

For a site to be listed on the ACT Heritage Register means it is afforded the following:

  • the site/place/object is seen to be of particular importance to the people of the ACT and to enrich our understanding of history and identity;
  • legal protection under the Heritage Act, this includes the application of Heritage Guidelines;
  • advice on development plans and issues is required from the Heritage Council to ensure it is correctly conserved;
  • the site/place is eligible for support from the Heritage Advisory Service or funding from the Heritage Grant Program.
For more information on the ACT Heritage Register visit the Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate’s

ACT Heritage website


Commonwealth and National Heritage List


Places on these lists are significant to the Australian nation. Whether it is owned by the Commonwealth Heritage List of the National Heritage List depends on whether it is owned by the Commonwealth or privately.

You can find out more and search these lists at the Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

Heritage website



Register of the National Estate


The Register of the National Estate is no longer a statutory list and all references to it in the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act (EPBC Act) were removed as of the 19th of February 2012.

The RNE was closed in 2007 and no places have not been added to it since then, it now acts as an archive of information about more than 13,000 places throughout Australia.

For more information on the RNE, it’s history and its current status see the Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities