Our purpose is to foster public knowledge about and conserve places and objects that are significant to our heritage.

Our purpose is to promote the conservation of, and foster public knowledge about, places, objects and issues that are significant to the heritage of the Australian Capital Territory.

The National Trust of Australia (ACT) is a non-government, not for profit, community organisation incorporated as a public company limited by guarantee (ACN 008 531 182, ABN 50 797 949 955).

Membership is open to any individual, family, business or organisation. We currently have around 1700 members in the ACT and surrounding region. One of the major benefits of joining the National Trust is usually free, and if not free, reduced price entry to properties managed by National Trusts and affiliated organisations in Australia and overseas.

The Trust is financed by membership subscriptions, donations, fund raising activities, sponsorship, and government grants for specific projects. The Trust is a Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) and all donations of $2.00 and over are fully tax deductible.

The Trust publishes Heritage in Trust magazine three times a year for members and subscribers. Each edition contains articles on local, national and international history and heritage, general interest stories, reports of Trust activities, members activities, information about coming events and advertising from appropriate commercial sources.

The Trust also has an extensive program of tours and events catering for a wide spectrum of interests. These range from local heritage tours, walks and talks, to regional, interstate and even overseas tours.

Please click the links below to download a copy of our constitution, our recent annual reports, or other corporate documentation.


The Hon. Margaret Reid AO

Honorary Life Members
Dr Peter & Mrs Dianne Dowling
Mr Michael Hodgkin
Mr Alan Kerr
Mr Eric Martin AM
Mrs Elizabeth McMillan
Mr Michael Moreing
The Hon Margaret Reid
Mr Garth Setchell
Professor Ken Taylor


Gary Kent – Chair – president@nationaltrustact.org.au
Marianne Albury-Colless
John Baker
Ken Charlton
Peter Dowling
Hannah Griffiths
Eric Martin


Mary Johnston – Chair – events@nationaltrustact.org.au
Marianne Albury-Colless
Michael Hodgkin
Scott McAlister
Linda Roberts

Gary Watkins – Manager – info@nationaltrustact.org.au