2022 Margaret Feilman Medal

Nominate a worthy recipient for the prestigious Margaret Feilman Medal.

Named after Margaret Feilman OBE, a founding member of the National Trust of Western Australia, this prestigious award recognises individuals or organisations who demonstrate meritorious achievement or service to heritage in Western Australia.

First established in 1999, the Margaret Feilman Medal is managed by the National Trust. By nominating someone for the Margaret Feilman Medal, you are acknowledging their strong commitment to the pursuit of valuing Western Australia’s heritage.

Recipients will be announced at the National Trust of Western Australia’s Annual General Meeting in front of an audience of industry peers and members.

Nominate someone for the 2022 Margaret Feilman Medal

If you are a National Trust of Western Australia member and know of an individual or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to heritage, you can nominate them for the award.

How to enter

Nominations and submissions for the Margaret Feilman Medal are submitted online with entrants answering a question detailing the reason for nomination.

Nominee selection criteria

The recipient of the Margaret Feilman Medal shall be of good standing in the community; and

  1. shall have made an outstanding contribution over an extended period of time to the National Trust of Western Australia; or
  2. shall have made an outstanding contribution over an extended period of time to advance the cause of heritage in Western Australia; or
  3. shall have provided outstanding leadership over an extended period of time in conservation practice aligned to the principles of the Burra Charter.

Nomination selection process

    1. The call for nominations from the membership of the National Trust of Western Australia commences 9am WST Monday 8 August 2022.
    2. Nominations will be accepted online, or via submission of the nomination form, from this date.
    3. Nominations are to be received by close of business, 5pm WST Sunday 18 September 2022.
    4. All nominations will be reviewed against the selection criteria. The selection panel comprises the National Trust of Western Australia Council President, National Trust of Western Australia Chair, CEO and Senior Management Team.
    5. The National Trust of Western Australia CEO will submit the recommendation(s) from the selection panel for the Margaret Feilman Medal to Council for endorsement1.
    6. Recipients2 will be announced at the National Trust of Western Australia Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 9 November 2022.


1 Council reserves the right to make no award should no nominations be received or it deems that none of the nominations meets the criteria to its satisfaction.
2 There is no set number of recipients who may receive the award in a year.

Call to action section

Start your nomination here

There are two ways to submit your nomination.
1. Download the nomination form, complete and submit via email.
You can access the form by clicking the link below. A completed nomination form and any supporting documentation should be sent to the National Trust of Western Australia via email trust@ntwa.com.au.

2. Access the online submission form below.
Complete the details online, attach supporting documentation where indicated and click the Submit button.

Nomination submissions must be received by close 5pm WST Sunday, 18 September 2022.

1. Download the nomination form 2. Complete the online nomination form below

Submit your nomination online

Please note, you cannot save your submission midway through. Should you have any questions or need additional information, contact us via email trust@ntwa.com.au or via phone (08) 9321 6088.

  • You can nominate an individual or organisation. Enter their full name or the organisation name here.
  • doc, xcl, ppt, jpg, gif, png and pdf files will be accepted
    Max. file size: 128 MB.

Previous recipients of the Margret Feilman Medal

The following individuals and organisations were acknowledged for their tireless contribution to heritage in Western Australia and awarded the Margaret Feilman Medal:


Dr Robyn Taylor
Judy Williams


Diana Frylinck
Karl Haynes


Prof David Dolan AM
Ms Vyonne Geneve OAM MA
Dr John Taylor
Dr Ingrid Van Bremen




Mr Michal Lewi


Mr John Garland


Mr Greg Divine
Mr Bob Hart
Ms Diana Russell Coote
Mr Wayne Zekulich


Mr M Hardey


Col RB Mitchell CFD UE

Related content