Take in the ambience of this unique woolshed, unchanged since it was built in 1863. Artefacts of the wool industry on display.
Glencoe was first established in 1844 by Edward and Robert Leake as a sheep shearing station. Leake brothers named the settlement after Glen Coe, Scotland where the infamous massacre of Glencoe took place in 1692. Originally from Tasmania, they brought with them the Saxon Merino sheep and then later built the Glencoe Woolshed in 1863 which still stands today as it was and now serves as a museum.
Visit the Glencoe Woolshed and you journey back to the era of the early Pioneer Pastoralists. The shearing/wool shed is unique as it was never converted to a mechanised shearing and it has now been converted into a museum of original and historic blade shearing and wool handling processes. Built in 1863, this fine building has hand adzed, cathedral like arched Blackwood beams with supporting posts of pit sawn Blackwood. The Glencoe Woolshed is a remarkable building and provides visitors with a real insight into the history of agriculture in the region.