1838 convict-built home and gardens that became one of the Colony's leading private schools.
Built in 1838 by former convict brewer and publican, Britton Jones, in 1842 the house became one of the colony’s leading private schools, run by W. K. Hawkes. The house’s facade boasts an Ionic portico while the back with its veranda has a charming Tasmanian vernacular flavour. The interiors are furnished to reflect 19th century life in Tasmania.
The National Trust in Tasmania was founded in 1960 to preserve and furnish this house, then known as The Hollies.
Garden: Relax under the shade of a 180-year-old oak tree, wander through the flower beds and Victorian kitchen garden and send the children in search of Patrick’s Pails. Patrick Lambert was a 19th century gardener at The Hollies.