The National Trust of Australia (Tasmania) is a community based member organisation responsible for the protection and presentation of historic heritage places.

The National Trust is Australia’s leading charity that advocates for the built environment. The Tasmanian branch of the Trust was formed in 1960 and is represented by eleven historic properties across Tasmania’s three regions. The Trust runs conservation appeals for more than twenty properties in community ownership. The Trust has been a leading advocate for Tasmania’s heritage, encompassing individual buildings, historic towns, industrial heritage and natural heritage. The Trust’s heritage lists became the basis for the Commonwealth Government’s Register of the National Estate (1975+) and the Tasmanian Heritage Register (1995+).

Your membership will allow the Trust’s important work to continue. An addition, your membership will give you free admission to over 1,000 historic places worldwide including in other Australian states, New Zealand, Britain and the USA. You can join the National Trust or renew your membership online via the following link:

 National Trust properties are generally closed Good Friday, Christmas Day, Boxing Day & New Year’s Day. Runnymede, Clarendon and Latrobe Courthouse Museum close for annual maintenance in July and August each year.

Meet our board.

Expandable list section

Related content