Dedicated National Trust of South Australia volunteers are recognised annually.

Since its inception in 1955, The National Trust of South Australia has become one of the State’s leading and most successful conservation organisations. This is thanks primarily to the continual work of a dedicated community of National Trust volunteers.

The Trust awards each year the following; Dr Mildred Mocatta Award, Distinguished Service Award, and Certificates of Appreciation to the National Trust SA volunteers.

The most significant is the Dr Mildred Mocatta Award, which acknowledges the exceptional voluntary contribution of a member to the development of the National Trust movement in South Australia.

Dr Mildred Mocatta (Presidents) Award
To be eligible, the Nominee must be a current financial member of the Trust (and have been for at least 15 years), must have played a leading role in a significant National Trust project or activity, served for at least 10 years on a NTSA Committee at National, State, Regional or Branch level, provided at least 10 years of dedicated voluntary work to support the work and activities organised by a Branch, Committee or the Adelaide Office, and to have worked within the wider National Trust organisation.

As this Award is the highest tribute the National Trust can pay to an individual, it is intended that only one Award will be granted each year. Council also reserves the right not to grant the Award in any particular year.

The Distinguished Service Award acknowledges the exemplary voluntary contribution of an individual at Branch level for at least 15 years.

Certificate of Appreciation
The Certificate of Appreciation is a way that NTSA Council, Branches and Committees are able to acknowledge the assistance of individuals, groups, organisations, local government authorities or State Government authorities given to NTSA.
To have played an important role in the completion of a National Trust project or activity. This may include generous donations of time, labour, money, materials or artefacts.
To have provided continued voluntary service for the benefit of a Branch, Committee or the Adelaide Office for at least 10 years’.

How to Nominate 

Download your nominations forms below:

2023 NTSA Presidents Award
2023 NTSA Service Award
2023 NTSA Achievement Award

Nomination forms for all awards can be downloaded via the links above, or obtained from State Office by either telephone (08) 8202 9200 or email Once submitted the application will be assessed by the Awards Committee and Council. If the application is successful, the Nominator and the Nominee will be notified in writing.

The Award Certificates are presented to successful Nominees by the President of the National Trust at the next Annual General Meeting.

Related content