National Trust SA 2015 Volunteer Awards

The Trust awards each year the following; Dr Mildred Mocatta Award, Distinguished Service Award, Honour Awards, and Certificates of Appreciation to the National Trust SA volunteers.

Since its inception in 1955, The National Trust of South Australia has become one of the State’s leading and most successful conservation organisations. This is thanks primarily to the continual work of a dedicated community of National Trust volunteers.

The Trust awards each year the following; Dr Mildred Mocatta Award, Distinguished Service Award, Honour Awards, and Certificates of Appreciation to the National Trust SA volunteers.


Honour Award 

Geoff Lock from the  Coromandel Valley Branch

Geoff has served on the Coromandel Valley & Districts Branch Committee for 10 years. He has actively promoted history in classroom lessons and organised and conducted school visits for several years. He assisted State Office in preparing for the new Schools’ History Syllabus. He has facilitated many of the Bakehouse Museum open days and is a key military historian for the Branch. Geoff has donated over 400 objects to the Collection, including 148 oral history recordings, books, photographs and other items. He continues to contribute to Branch activities and research.


Distinguished Service Award 

Don Goldney from the Mount Barker Branch

Don has been a member of the National Trust of South Australia for over 15 years, serving as Branch Chair for 11 years and Vice Chair prior to that. He helped establish the Combined Meetings of the Historical and Heritage groups in the Adelaide Hills, regularly attended Regional meetings and organised the guided walks through Mount Barker for many special events. He helped with the planning, design and installation of plaques for historic buildings, including the Quaker burial monument. He has devoted much of his own time to the Speaker Program and the preservation, conservation and presentation of historical artefacts, and also worked with Local Government on significant issues. Over the years he has developed an extensive collection of photographs of the built environment of the Mount Barker region.

Currently he is finalising the new plaque honouring the Pioneer women of the Mount Barker District. Don has recently retired from the position of Branch Chair and Mount Barker Branch will miss his guidance, kindness, thoughtfulness and enthusiasm.


Distinguished Service Award 

Evelynne Bowden from the Penola Branch

Evelynne has served as Secretary of the Penola Branch of the National Trust for 15 years. During that time she worked on many Branch projects, including copying the photographic collection, creating the John Riddoch Centre’s local history display, and managing the Penola Branch collection of historical artefacts, including the collation and entry onto the Mosaic database.

She has contributed to the maintenance of National Trust buildings and gardens in Penola, organised the marketing and sales of Branch publications, and set up media exposure to promote the Branch and the National Trust. She is a regular attendee at Regional meetings and has also been involved in the preparation and guiding of historic walks. In 2011 she was named Penola Citizen of the Year. Evelynne has dedicated many years to the National Trust and has just recently retired from Committee work.


Distinguished Service Award 

John Northwood from the  Millicent Branch

John has been a Member of Millicent Branch for 35 years, serving in the offices of Chair, Secretary and Treasurer for intervals during those years. He has also served on the National Trust Audit, Finance & Governance Committee and Council for the last few years. John was involved in the expansion and growth of the Millicent Museum and in particular the Collection of over 100 horse drawn vehicles, and the Helen Hughes Costume Collection. He also applied for government grants, negotiating and driving projects, and transported horse drawn vehicles from Adelaide to Millicent in his own time.

Related content