Beautifully preserved 1840 whaling captain's house and gardens.
Just 8 minutes’ drive from central Hobart, Runnymede has a rich collection of maritime artifacts that belonged to Captain Charles Bayley and his family, who made it their home for over 100 years. Named after the Captain’s favourite ship, Runnymede now promotes marine conservation.
The Colonial marine villa was built for Robert Pitcairn, one of the first lawyers admitted to the Supreme Court of Van Diemen’s Land and a leading campaigner against the transportation of convicts.
There are also historic artworks and possessions of one of the property’s other owners, Francis Nixon, Tasmania’s first Anglican bishop.
Join one of our knowledgeable volunteers on the Captain’s House Tour to discover everything this lovely homestead has to offer. Visitors are also encouraged to take a leisurely stroll around the beautiful gardens.
Runnymede is available for hire for private events such as weddings, conference cocktails, or corporate dinners. There are a variety of special events throughout the year including an annual High Teas and the Spring and Autumn Plant Sales. One-hour school tours are also offered (see links below).
Runnymede is open Saturday and Sunday from 10am – 3pm. Bookings are preferred.
We encourage visitors without bookings to contact the property on 6278 1269 or the National Trust office on 6344 6233 prior to visiting, as hours may vary due to changing requirements in response to COVID-19. Stay safe.
Coming Soon to Runnymede
Runnymede Garden Tour
Immerse yourself in the tranquility and beauty of this marvelous 120 year old garden with this 1 hour tour.
Surrounding the villa on all sides, this meticulously maintained garden is filled with flowering shrubs and bulbs, fruit trees, heritage roses, herbs, and hedges.
Enjoy a leisurely stroll with one of the gardens dedicated National Trust volunteers as they guide you around the grounds.
Check our booking site for availability.