feature image

1874 Miners Cottage & Garden Open Day

Visit and experience 150 years of families living in a mudbrick home. Built by Thomas and Sarah Evans in 1874 it grew to a farm of about 120 acres and today sits on an acre of gardens with 7 out buildings.

It was common for miner’s cottages to start as a small house but many were extended as families grew and miners advanced their employment prospects. Thomas and Sarah had 13 children. Their final extension was undertaken in 1895 with an addition of a parlour and verandah. The house water well still operates alongside a mudbrick buggy shed and the original stables, toilet and cook house. You will be able to walk through the rooms where they lived and enjoy the ambience of a home listed in the book, Bendigo Historic Buildings. There is an acre of gardens, plenty of historic records about the property and a cuppa to enjoy.

Heritage consultant and historian Elaine Doling will give a short talk on the History of Miners Cottages at 11:00am and be available to answer questions.

Event date

Event Details

57 Green St, California Gully, VIC

The house is located 5km west of the Bendigo CBD, travel along Arnold St, pass the Bendigo Hospital, pass the Bendigo Showgrounds and turn right into Holdsworth Rd, left into Gibson St and right into Pearce St. Proceed to Green St and its on corner of Pearce & Green Streets.



Entry fees:
Adults $ 10, Children $ Free, Concession $ 5, Family $ 15, Members $ Free
Onsite facilities: