Heritage Places

0 items in your cart

Heritage Places

The mission of the National Trust is to conserve and interpret Australia’s heritage (historic, natural and Indigenous) for present and future generations. One way we do this is by looking after heritage places which range from old gaols, schools, government buildings, residences, industrial buildings, pump houses, mills and reserves. In this section, you can search for heritage places which are either owned by the National Trust as well as historic properties which are open to the public by historical societies, museums, retail outlets and tourism agencies.

Members of the National Trust receive free or discounted entry to Trust properties in Australia and overseas.

Click here to purchase your National Trust membership.

Click on the links below to find out more about the places listed here or contact the Trust in your State or Territory to find out more.

  • 86 Hartley St

    Where: 86 Hartley Street Alice Springs 0870 NT


    Its classic design was to provide relief from the intense heat of the Central Australia summer with wide screened verandahs while in winter the masonry core of the building served to keep the warmth contained. more

  • Agery Reserve

    Where: Below the intersection of Bowdens & Donaldsons Roads (via Agery Road) Agery 5558 SA


    A small (3.3 ha) triangular nature reserve of natural mallee scrub in a relatively undisturbed state. more

  • Albert Hall

    Where: Commonwealth Avenue Yarralumla 2601 ACT


    The Albert Hall is a hall in Canberra, Australia, used for entertainment. It is on Commonwealth Avenue between Commonwealth Bridge and the Hotel Canberra in the suburb of Yarralumla. more

  • Ardrossan Museum

    Where: 16 Fifth Street Ardrossan 5571 SA


    Ardrossan Historical Museum is located in the powerhouse of the former factory (est.1880 ) of Clarence H. Smith, manufacturer of agricultural machinery & the famous stump jump plough. more

  • Auburn Old Police Station and Courthouse Museum

    Where: St Vincent Street Auburn 5451 SA


    The Old Police Station and Courthouse were completed in 1860 and later extended. more

  • Audit House

    Where: 2 Burnett Place Larrakeyah 0820 NT



  • Ayers House Museum

    Where: 288 North Tce Adelaide 5000 SA


    Step back in time to colonial Adelaide when you visit Ayers House Museum. Ayers House is the last of the grand mansions of Adelaide’s North Terrace boulevard. more

  • Barwon Grange

    Where: 25 Fernleigh Street Newtown 3220 VIC


    Barwon Grange alone survives intact from many fashionable mid 19th century valuable river frontage residences built along the Barwon river. more

  • Barwon Park

    Where: 105 Inverleigh Road Winchelsea 3241 VIC


    Barwon Park, built in 1871 for Thomas and Elizabeth Austin is a majestic 42 room bluestone mansion and stables & an ideal venue for weddings, photography and group functions. more

  • Bassett Boys' Schoolroom

    Where: 17 St Lukes Street Willunga 5172 SA


    Built from local limestone, and roofed and floored with local slate. Built in 1854 as a boys school by James Bassett. Continued as such until 1874. more

  • Beachport Old Wool & Grain Store Museum

    Where: Railway Terrace Beachport 5280 SA


    Built in 1879 as shipping house and warehouse, using local freestone with sawn Coraline limestone quoins. more

  • Beaumont House

    Where: 631 Glynburn Road Beaumont 5066 SA


    Beaumont House has a distinctive Mediterranean character with an open brickwork parapet in soft terracotta colours and a central flat roof originally accessed by a staircase. It is now the State Office of the NTSA more

  • Bedervale

    Where: Monkittee Street Braidwood 2622 NSW


    Bedervale is a large single storey Georgian home, situated close to Canberra that houses the National Trust Collection. This privately owned property built in 1836 on a land grant by Captain John Coghill is a property of great historic and architectural significance. more

  • Blundell's Cottage

    Where: Wendouree Drive Canberra 2600 ACT


    Built about 1860, this little stone cottage pre-dates the national capital. It was originally surrounded by paddocks, sitting alongside the Molonglo River for more than 100 years more

  • Bon Accord Cottage

    Where: Corner West Street and Railway Terrace Burra 5417 SA


    Bon Accord Cottage has bed and breakfast accommodation. Tariffs are from $135 per double per night. more

  • Bon Accord Mine Complex

    Where: Corner West Street and Railway Terrace Burra 5417 SA


    The Bon Accord Mining Museum is located on the site of Bon Accord Mine, and incorporates the original mine office and workshop. more

  • Brennan & Geraghty's Store Museum

    Where: 64 Lennox Street Maryborough 4650 QLD


    Not only does Brennan & Geraghty’s Store show the pattern of retail development in a regional town, it is exemplary in being able to demonstrate, through its fabric and through its collection, the characteristics of such a type of general store. It is one of only a few such places in Australia where such can be seen. more

  • Bridgedale

    Where: Hampton St Bridgetown 6255 WA


    The Blechynden family homestead Bridgedale is a fine example of how 19th century farming properties were established and grew. more

  • Burnett House

    Where: 4 Burnett Place Larrakeyah 0820 NT


    The only remaining two storey house designed by Beni Burnett. more

  • Burra Mine Site Grassland

    Where: Access is via the main entrance off Market Street Burra 5417 SA


    The Burra Mine Site has several buildings and other structures from the Site's time as a working copper mine - the Monster Mine. These include Peacocks Chimney Stack and Morphetts Engine House. more

  • Burra Miner's Dugouts

    Where: Access is via the main entrance off Market Street Burra 5417 SA


    Around 600 dugouts were excavated in the banks of the Burra Creek between 1846 and 1851, to provide accommodation for an estimated population of 1800. more

  • Burra Police Lockup and Stables

    Where: Ludgvan Street Burra 5417 SA


    Erected at the rear of the first police station in 1847, the cells were used as a temporary Gaol until Redruth Gaol was built in 1856. Additional cells, stables and the stableyard were added in 1873. more

  • Calthorpe's House

    Where: 24 Mugga Way Red Hill 2603 ACT


    A visit to Calthorpes’ House will take you back to the time when the Calthorpe Family lived in the house. more

  • Cape Jaffa Lighthouse

    Where: Marine Parade Kingston SE 5275 SA


    Originally built out to sea from the Cape Jaffa on the Margaret Brock Reef and opened in 1872. The historic lighthouse originally was 41 metres high and known as a Wells Screw Pile designed to suit the local conditions. more

  • Ceduna School House Museum

    Where: 2 Park Terrace Ceduna 5690 SA


    The Museum consists of the Ceduna School built in 1912, the first post office, the first gaol. Collection includes Maralinga Village artefacts and aboriginal artefacts. more

  • Central Greenough

    Where: Brand Highway Greenough 6532 WA


    The settlement's buildings and altered landscape provide an example of colonial expansion in the mid nineteenth century more

  • Clare Old Police Station and Courthouse Museum

    Where: Corner, Neagles Rock Road and Victoria Road Clare 5453 SA


    Built in 1850 and located about one mile from the town centre, the building housed police troopers and dispensed justice until the late 1870s. more

  • Clarendon

    Where: 234 Clarendon Station Road Nile, via Evandale 7212 TAS


    Experience the atmosphere of Australia’s grandest rural colonial house. The estate established by James Cox has a rich pastoral history & holds a unique place in Tasmania’s convict history as James Cox was instrumental in the anti-transportation movement. The grand scale of Clarendon is an extraordinary statement of achievement by James Cox who established an agricultural enterprise exporting produce not only to New South Wales but also to India, Mauritius and the Cape Colony. Clarendon also features 7ha of parkland and gardens on the banks of South Esk River. The historically significant site includes a spectacular walled garden, hawthorn hedges & a rare avenue of Elms. more

  • Cleve Old Council Chambers

    Where: Third Street Cleve 5640 SA


    The Cleve Old Council Chambers, built in 1913, houses the National Trust Agricultural and Folk Museum. Items of interest include early records and implements made by local industries. more

  • Cobdogla Irrigation Museum

    Where: Trussell Terrace Cobdogla 5346 SA


    The Museum focuses on the area's irrigation history, particularly the unique Humphrey Pumps Australia's Big Thumper, the world's only working Humphrey Pump. Exhibition consist also of a steam locomotive, steam traction engine, oil engines, tractors and machinery from the early development era of the Irrigation Areas. more

  • Collingrove Homestead

    Where: Eden Valley Road,5 km southeast of Angaston Angaston 5353 SA


    A large house built of local stone with a slate roof. Collingrove Homestead provides a fine example of how our pioneers created a new Australian architecture which still retains the Old Country atmosphere of their origin. more

  • Como House and Garden

    Where: Cnr Williams Rd & Lechlade Ave, South Yarra 3141 VIC


    Built in 1847, Como House & Garden is an intriguing mix of Australian Regency and classic Italianate architecture. Established by Edward Eyre Williams as a new home for himself and his wife Jessie Gibbon, Como has been immersed in glamour and romance since its early beginnings. more

  • Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary

    Where: 28 Tomewin Street Currumbin 4221 QLD


    One of the earliest nature based tourist operations in Queensland, Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary is an iconic provider of nature-based tourism experiences. This lush, green oasis near the sea has strong associations with its founder, Alex Griffiths, and with the wider community through the holiday experience had by many. more

  • Dalwood House

    Where: Dalwood Road Dalwood 2320 NSW


    Situated in the midst of the famous Wyndham Estate Winery, Dalwood House is significant because it reflects the history of one of the most important pioneering families in the Hunter Valley. Designed by the pioneer vigneron George Wyndham in 1829, Dalwood House is a rare surviving example of one of the earliest Greek revival buildings in New South Wales and the earliest known example of the style in the Hunter Valley. more

  • Davidson Cottage

    Where: Petticoat Lane Penola 5277 SA


    Davidson Cottage was built in 1861 by Peter Davidson and his son John with pit-sawn timber arranged horizontally and with a shingle roof. more

  • Dow's Pharmacy

    Where: Conness Street Chiltern 3683 VIC


    Built in 1859, the pharmacy remained open until 1968 and was operated by Hilda and Roy Dow from 1929. You will find many original shop fittings, records and pharmaceutical equipment. The extent to which retailing and the science of pharmacy and medicine have changed is well highlighted at Dow's Pharmacy. more

  • Dundullimal Homestead

    Where: 23L Obley Road Dubbo 2830 NSW


    A visit to the National Trust’s Dubbo property, Dundullimal is a special experience which allows visitors to step back into rural life in the early colony. Its story is one of amazing endeavour and vision, evidenced in the creation of a finely crafted, albeit rustic home, which has survived in near original condition at a time when the land was beyond the limits of settlement. more

  • Duntroon Dairy

    Where: Off Kelliher Drive Russell 2612 ACT


    Duntroon Dairy was built in 1832 and privded milk and butter for the people living on merchant Robert Campbell's estate. The building in now a symbol of Canberra's rich links to agriculture which have continued for more than a century. more

  • East Perth Cemeteries

    Where: Bronte Street East Perth 6004 WA


    From the establishment of the first cemetery in 1829to the closure of the seven cemeteries in 1899 almost all of the people who died in Perth, from the wealthy and prominent to the poor or unknown, were buried here. more

  • Ellensbrook

    Where: Ellen Brook Road Margaret River 6285 WA


    In 1857 Ellen and Alfred Bussell chose the site of their new home. Sheltered from the winter storms, the site had access to fresh water and was surrounded by fertile soil. more

  • Endeavour Fern Gully

    Where: 195 Arthurs Seat Road, Red Hill 3937 VIC


    Endeavour Fern Gully is a rural bushland remnant of 27 hectares of rain forest that contains a variety of natural habitats and rich in local flora and fauna. more

  • Englebrook Reserve

    Where: Wattle Street Bridgewater 5155 SA


    Engelbrook Reserve supports a number of different wildlife habitats and plant communities and these contain wetlands, permanent springs and bogland, which support a large variety of species of conservation significance. more

  • Everglades House & Gardens

    Where: 37 Everglades Avenue Leura 2780 NSW


    The National Trust brings Australia's heritage alive at Everglades Gardens. Drawing from the great traditions of European landscape design as well as the unique Blue Mountains bushland, Everglades will charm with its grace and beauty. more

  • Experiment Farm Cottage

    Where: 9 Ruse Street Harris Park 2150 NSW


    2013 is the 50th anniversary of the National Trust of Australia (NSW) opening Experiment Farm Cottage as a house museum. On 20th July 1963 the NSW Governor Sir Eric Woodward officially opened the museum, the first such museum dedicated to Australian colonial furniture and lifestyle. On 20th July 2013 Governor Professor Marie Bashir will unlock our history for a new generation of museum visitors. more

  • Former Outpatients Building aka Tuxworth Fullwood

    Where: 57 Schmidt St Tennant Creek 0860 NT


    This building is the only remnant of the 55 Military Camp Hospital constructed by the Australian Military Force in 1942. more

  • Franklin House

    Where: 413 Hobart Road Youngtown 7249 TAS


    Sit under the shade of a 180 year old Oak tree or wander through a Victorian Kitchen Garden. Convict built in 1838 for Britton Jones (himself an ex-convict), Franklin House is the only house museum in Launceston. This rare colonial building includes a school and is surrounded by beautiful grounds including a Victorian Kitchen Garden, significant oak trees, beautiful horse chestnut, and many delicate plants. Tearoom & gift shop. Gardens available for weddings more

  • Gamble Cottage

    Where: Main Road and Dorham Road Blackwood 5051 SA


    Built in 1902 for Joseph Gamble and his family. Bequeathed in 1982 for community use. more

  • Gammon Cottage

    Where: 5 Petticoat Lane Penola 5277 SA


    Gammon Cottage, home of the ‘Art House’ the smallest art gallery in Penola, with changing exhibitions by local artists and its own blacksmith, Bruce Kennewell. Gammon Cottage is owned by the National Trust. Built by 1869 and owned from 1878 by Philip William Carter Gammon. . more

  • Gawler Old Telegraph Station Museum

    Where: 59 Murray Street Gawler 5118 SA


    Museum displays include a comprehensive Migration story, the Timer Fashion era , rare musical instruments, memorobilia from explorer John McKinlay, photographs, telegraph memorobilia, items related to early businesses and foundries. more

  • Glencoe Woolshed

    Where: Corner, Glencoe Road and Woolshed Road Glencoe (23km northwest of Mount Gambier) 5291 SA


    The shearing/wool shed is unique as it was never converted to mechanized shearing and it is set up as a museum of original and historic blade shearing and wool handling processes. more

  • Golden Pipeline Heritage Trail

    Where: Mundaring Weir Road Mundaring 6073 WA


    Follow life-giving water from picturesque Mundaring Weir in the forested Perth Hills, through the open spaces of WA's wheatbelt to Mount Charlotte Reservoir overlooking Kalgoorlie-Boulder, the city built on gold. more

  • Goolwa Museum

    Where: 11 Porter Street Goolwa 5214 SA


    Built around 1872 as a Blacksmiths shop. Museum follows the history of Goolwa, Currency Creek and Hindmarsh Island from Aboriginal times to the present. more

  • Goolwa Old Railway Superintendent's Cottage

    Where: Laurie Lane Goolwa 5214 SA


    Constructed in 1852 from local limestone, the cottage has an unusual, but simply supported, barrel vaulted roof. The cottage now houses community radio station Alex FM. more

  • Grandchester Railway Station

    Where: Access from Rosewood-Laidley Road Grandchester 4341 QLD


    Grandchester Railway Station, also referred to as Bigge’s Camp, was the western terminus of the first section of railway opened in Queensland. The opening occurred with much fanfare on 31 July 1865. The station building, on which work was undertaken in the late 1870s, is the first in Queensland constructed using local materials. The goods shed was built in the same period. The tank was relocated from Laidley in 1876, while the station master’s house was erected in 1910. more

  • Grossman & Brough House

    Where: 71-73 Church Street Maitland 2320 NSW


    Grossman House, Maitland is one of two mirror image, Victorian Regency properties, built side by side on the same lot in 1870-71 for the prosperous business partners, Isaac Beckett and Samuel Owen. The buildings are thought to have been designed by local architect, William White. more

  • Gulf Station

    Where: 1029 Melba Highway Yarra Glen 3775 VIC


    Gulf Station tells an exciting story about the daily life on a pioneer farm, with an array of farm buildings and animals waiting to be discovered. more

  • Harper's Mansion

    Where: 9 Wilkinson Street Berrima 2577 NSW


    Choosing to build his house in an imposing position overlooking the village, James Harper, a District Constable in Sutton Forest, completed his house in 1834. James Harper was also the first licensee of the Surveyor General Inn at Berrima. more

  • Hartley Street School Museum

    Where: 39 Hartley St Alice Springs 0870 NT


    This was the first official school building in Alice Springs. The oldest part of the structure dates from 1929. more

  • Herons Bend Reserve

    Where: Overland Corner 5354 SA


    Part of the Overland Corner Reserve. Features a boat ramp, house-boat moorings, former police station and stables, fauna fossils, fossil oyster beds and an old quarry. more

  • Home Hill

    Where: 77 Middle Rd Devonport 7310 TAS


    A rare opportunity to browse through the home of a Prime Minister. Built in 1916, this fascinating site was the home of Australian Prime Minister Joseph Lyons and Dame Enid Lyons. more

  • Hope Cottage

    Where: Centenary Avenue Kingscote, Kangaroo Island 5223 SA


    Hope Cottage houses the Hope Cottage Museum with displays of farm machinery, tractors, motor vehicles and engines.The grounds feature the top part of the former Cape Willoughby Lighthouse. more

  • Hou Wang Temple

    Where: 86 Herberton Road Atherton 4883 QLD


    The Hou Wang Temple was the social and religious heart of Atherton’s Chinese community from 1903 and is now the only remaining timber and iron Chinese temple in Australia, of typical Queensland construction materials used in a unique manner. It is highly significant as a rare example of a temple in overseas Chinese settlements and possibly the only temple dedicated to Hou Wang outside China. more

  • Hughes Pump House

    Where: Verran Terrace Moonta Mines 5558 SA


    Erected in 1865, Hughes Pump House housed a 60 inch Cornish beam pumping engine which operated until the mine closed in 1923. more

  • James Cook Museum

    Where: Cnr Helen & Furneaux Street Cooktown 4895 QLD


    Housed in a stunning 19th Century convent building, the Museum is an ideal spot to sit back, relax and enjoy unparalleled views across the Endeavour River to the north shore. A rare, nineteenth century brick building of substance, one constructed during the period of the 1880s boom, James Cook Museum is important because it shows the evolution of education in remote regions of Queensland. more

  • Jamesown Local History Centre

    Where: Doon Terrace Jamestown 5491 SA


    Large archival collection of local history Local newspapers from 1878, Births, Deaths & Marriages, School records, local histories, family histories, both printed and hand written, Minute books, Account Books. more

  • Jamestown Railway Station Museum

    Where: Mannanarie Road Jamestown 5491 SA


    Built in 1885, the old Railway Station is now a National Trust Museum which features the history of Bundaleer Forest. The collection includes an iron lung and humidicrib. more

  • Jones Store

    Where: 21 Drovers Drive Newcastle Waters 0862 NT


    The old corrugated iron, bamboo and earth constructed building is one of the oldest in the former stock route junction town. more

  • Keith 1910 Congregational Church

    Where: Heritage Street Keith 5267 SA


    Built in 1910 as a community project, voluntary labour used local stone to construct the church. more

  • Keith Early Settler's Cottage

    Where: Emu Flat Road, (100m west of Densley Road) Keith 5267 SA


    Built by William Davies in 1894, the cottage is constructed of local limestone and consists of two bedrooms, a parlour, and a kitchen. more

  • Kingston National Trust Museum

    Where: 23 Cooke Street Kingston SE 5275 SA


    The Kingston National Trust Museum features many items connected with local history. more

  • Koppio Smithy Museum

    Where: RSD 1951 Koppio Road Koppio 5606 SA


    The Museum features the original Blacksmith shop and two bedroom cottage (restored), ‘Glenleigh’ a lovely thatch cottage (1890), as well as many more unique buildings and collections more

  • La Trobe's Cottage

    Where: Corner of Birdwood Avenue & Dallas Brooks Drive, The Domain Melbourne 3000 VIC


    The original home of Victoria's first Lt. Governor, Charles Joseph La Trobe from 1839 to 1854. La Trobe's Cottage has been relocated from its original site and offers a rare insight into early colonial life in Melbourne. If you wish to book a combined La Trobe Cottage and Government House tour please call 03 9656 9804 or email bookings@nattrust.com.au more

  • Labassa

    Where: 2 Manor Grove Caulfield North 3161 VIC


    Labassa is one of Australia's most outstanding 19th century mansions. Hidden in a cul-de-sac in Caulfield, Labassa's striking facade and opulent interiors reflect late 1880s grandeur and Victorian taste and elegance. more

  • Lake View House

    Where: 18 - 22 Victoria Street Chiltern 3683 VIC


    Lake View House is the home of the distinguished Australian novelist Henry Handel Richardson. more

  • Lanyon Homestead

    Where: RMB 15, Tharwa Drive, Tharwa 2608 ACT


    Set within superb pleasure gardens the property includes a range of outbuildings and is located within a landscape of great natural beauty. more

  • Latrobe Court House Museum

    Where: | 113 - 115 Gilbert Street | Latrobe 7307 TAS


    The Court House Museum tells the story of Latrobe and surrounding areas which has an historically rich agricultural and forestry identity. Latrobe was also a major port on the North West coast, the site of Tasmania’s oil shale industry and birthplace of competitive wood chopping in Australia. more

  • Lenger Reserve

    Where: Purnong Road Mannum 5238 SA


    Lenger reserve is 95 hectares in size and is part of an undulating plain consisting of limestone with overlying calcrete. more

  • Les Hansen House

    Where: 11 Stuart Terrace Alice Springs 0870 NT


    This property is one of the few houses in the Alice Springs Heritage Precinct that still retains all its original outbuildings. more

  • Lindesay

    Where: 1 Carthona Avenue Darling Point 2027 NSW


    Visit historic Lindesay, built in 1834 and step back into the gracious life of early Sydney. Georgian interiors with their fine Australian and English furniture are complemented by an elegant parterre garden and well tended grounds with uninterrupted Harbour vistas. Below stairs the stone kitchen, servants’ quarters and freshwater well are reminiscent of times very different to today. more

  • Loveday Reserve

    Where: Barmera 5435 SA


    20 ha in area, Loveday Reserve adjoins larger areas of native vegetation to the west and south. more

  • Lyall's Store

    Where: 90 Mosman Street Charters Towers 4820 QLD


    Lyall’s Store is significant as an intact store space, working area and strong room in a former gold mining town. Its narrow frontage, indicative of the challenges of early surveying in a town already established, and its curved plate glass display windows make a valuable contribution to Mosman Street. more

  • Magistrates House

    Where: 2 Kahlin Avenue Larrakeyah 0820 NT


    Designed by Beni Burnett, is is believed to have been the first of the houses located in the Myilly Point Heritage Precinct to be constructed. more

  • Maitland Museum

    Where: Corner, Gardiner and Kilkerran Terraces Maitland 5573 SA


    Maitland Museum is housed in a 19th Century, stone and brick, former school building. Maitland Museum has a collection of relics and memorabilia, and showcases local history. more

  • Malowen Lowarth Cottage

    Where: 1 Paxton Square Cottages, Kingston Street, Burra 5417 SA


    19th Century stone cottage. Furnished with authentic 1860s artefacts.It has a garden to suit the period. A guide takes visitors through the cottage and describes life in Burra during the early copper mining days. more

  • Mangowine Homestead

    Where: Karomine North Road Nungarin 6490 WA


    Mangowine Homestead has long been a place of hospitality, a necessary stop for people travelling through the region. Its setting is a powerful reminder of each individual's place in, and relationship to, the environment. more

  • Market Square Museum

    Where: Market Square Burra 5417 SA


    Market Square Museum is a recreation of an old style general store, post office and family home at the turn of the century. more

  • Matta House

    Where: Matta Road, Kadina 5554 SA


    Matta House was built in 1863 as the residence of the Manager of Matta Matta Mine. more

  • McCrae Homestead

    Where: 11 Beverley Road McCrae 3938 VIC


    McCrae Homestead is one of Victoria's oldest homesteads and is a physical reminder of the early pioneering life. more

  • Millicent Museum

    Where: 1 Mount Gambier Road Millicent 5280 SA


    The Millicent Museum features 25 fully restored buggies, carriages and wagons, a large machinery shed, and beautiful gowns. Built in 1873 as a primary school, the building has housed the Millicent National Trust Museum since 1960. more

  • Mines House

    Where: 6 Burnett Place Larrakeyah 0820 NT


    Mines House is Type ‘E’ design of Beni Carr Glynn Burnett. The Type ‘E’ is an elevated, timber framed, asbestos cement clad residence. more

  • Minlaton Museum

    Where: 16a Main Street Minlaton 5575 SA


    Minlaton and District Museum is located in part of an old General Store built about 1889. It contains in a special room memorabilia of Captain Harry Butler A.F.C. Also displayed are many items pertaining to early Pioneer life in the area. more

  • Miss Porter's House

    Where: 434 King Street Newcastle West 2302 NSW


    When newlyweds Herbert Porter and his bride Florence Jolly moved into their new home in 1910, their thoughts were focused on the here and now; the need to furnish and care for the house, and the need to cultivate their general store and carrier business in nearby Blaine (now Hunter) Street. They pondered too the prospect of starting a family, as Ella was born in 1911 and Hazel in 1914. Sadly, Herbert (and his mother) fell victim to the influenza epidemic in 1919, and Florence was left to raise the two girls. more

  • Miss Traill's House

    Where: 321 Russell Street Bathurst 2795 NSW


    Built by the Reverend Thomas Sharpe in 1845 soon after land became available in the Bathurst area, Miss Traill’s House and Garden is named after Ida Traill, a socially prominent, independently wealthy resident, who lived in this pretty Colonial Georgian bungalow from 1931 until her death at 87 in 1976. more

  • Moonta Miners Cottage and Heritage Garden

    Where: Verco Street Moonta Mines 5558 SA


    Built around 1870, this cottage of the mines settlement is typically Cousin Jack (Cornish). It has been furnished by the National Trust to pre 1900 period. more

  • Moonta Mines Model School Museum

    Where: Verran Terrace Moonta Mines 5558 SA


    The Moonta Mines Model School was erected in 1878. The building now houses the Moonta Mines Museum. more

  • Moonta Mines Sweet Shop

    Where: Verran Terrace Moonta Mines 5558 SA


    The shop was once a post office, and was erected in 1946 and closed on June 30, 1976. At the time of closing the post office was said to be the smallest post office in operation in South Australia. more

  • Moonta Railway Station

    Where: 100m East of corner Ellen St and Blanch Tce Moonta 5558 SA


    The building was erected by Gambling and Son and opened in 1909. It replaced an old timber and iron station, which was erected in 1878. It is now the home of the Moonta Tourist Office. more

  • Moonta School of Mines

    Where: Ellen St Moonta 5558 SA


    Erected as a Baptist Church in 1866. The adjacent residence is the original Baptist Manse.Converted in 1891 for use as a School of Mines, the first one outside of Adelaide.The building now houses the Local and Family History Resource Centre more

  • Mooramong

    Where: Glenelg Highway Skipton 3361 VIC


    Remodelled in 1938 to reflect the Hollywood style, this homestead elegantly echoes the lifestyle of D.J.S (Scobie) Mackinnon and his wife, Hollywood silent screen star Claire Adams. more

  • Motts Cottage

    Where: 5 Sackville Street Port Fairy 3284 VIC



  • Mount Gambier Courthouse Museum

    Where: Bay Road Mount Gambier 5290 SA


    Work began on the pink dolomite stone courthouse in 1864. There have been a number of additions to the building in 1869, 1871, 1878, and gas lighting which replaced kerosene lamps in 1892. more

  • Mount Laura Station

    Where: Ekblom Street Whyalla Norrie 5608 SA


    The Mount Laura Station - now the Mount Laura Homestead Museum - houses the Gay Street Cottage, garden, blacksmith's shop, police cell, steam train, horse drawn vehicle shed, Nicholson Engine shed and the Telecommunications Museum. more

  • Mugga Mugga

    Where: 129 Narrabundah Lane Symonston 2609 ACT


    The small stone cottage has been conserved and furnished with household items that belonged to the Curley family who moved to Mugga-Mugga from Duntroon in 1913. more

  • Mulberry Hill

    Where: 385 Golf Links Road Langwarrin South 3911 VIC


    Home of Daryl Lindsay who founded the National Gallery of Victoria and Joan Lindsay author of Picnic at Hanging Rock. more

  • Mulbura Park Reserve

    Where: Mulburra Park Road Port Vincent 5581 SA


    Mulbura Park Reserve consists of 19ha of remnant low Sheoak (Allocasuarina verticillata) woodland and Mallee (Eucalyptus socialis) within central Yorke Peninsula. The Reserve recorded the highest level of biodiversity in the region in 1994. more

  • Nappers Accommodation House

    Where: Morgan Road Barmera 5345 SA


    19th Century hotel building now in ruins. more

  • Nehill Brothers' Farm Living History Reserve

    Where: 97 Nehill and Alexanders Road South Purrumbeete 3260 VIC


    Home of the Large Black Pig and other Australian heritage farm animal breeds. Find out more

  • No. 1 Pump Station

    Where: Mundaring Weir Road Mundaring 6073 WA


    No 1 Pump Station is no longer the starting point for water's long journey to the Goldfields, but it is the starting point for a new journey, a journey of discovery - the Golden Pipeline. more

  • Norfolk Plains Heritage Centre

    Where: Menzies Room, 234 Clarendon Rd Nile (via Evandale) 7301 TAS


    The Norfolk Plains Heritage Centre with Lake Masonic Lodge is located in Longford near the historic Christ Church. The Heritage Centre has an exhibition space and archival resources which draw on the significant collections of the Norfolk Plains Group of the National Trust and explore the towns, people and industries of the Norfolk Plains District more

  • Norman Lindsay Gallery

    Where: 14 Norman Lindsay Crescent Faulconbridge 2776 NSW


    The Norman Lindsay Gallery at Faulconbridge is the home of the Magic Pudding and displays the work of artist and writer Norman Lindsay (1879-1969). Run by the National Trust, the sandstone cottage and landscaped grounds are open 7 days a week and there is a specialist gift shop and cafe. more

  • Nurragi Conservation Reserve

    Where: Milang 5256 SA


    Containing a wide variety of wildflowers and wildlife the Reserve features a popular nature trail. The Reserve contains remnant mallee vegetation in a highly developed agricultural region. more

  • O'Keeffe House

    Where: Lot 2019 Riverbank Drive Katherine 0870 NT


    This small house originally built as an Officer’s Mess during WWII more

  • Old Blythewood

    Where: 6161 Southwest Highway Pinjarra 6208 WA


    Set on a high bank overlooking the fertile flats of the Murray River, Old Blythewood stands as a testament to the industry, ingenuity and flexibility of the pioneering McLarty family. more

  • Old Farm, Strawberry Hill

    Where: 174 Middleton Road Albany 6330 WA


    The Old Farm, Strawberry Hill was considered old more than 100 years ago. As far back as 1890 it was given the name The Old Farm, in recognition of being the oldest farm in Western Australia, established even before the Swan River Colony. more

  • Old Government House

    Where: Parramatta Park, Pitt Street Entrance Parramatta 2150 NSW


    Standing in 200 acres of parkland overlooking historic Parramatta, Old Government House is Australia’s oldest surviving public building. For seven decades, it was the ‘country’ residence of 10 early governors of the colony, including Governor and Mrs Macquarie who, from 1810 to 1821 preferred the clean air and space of rural Parramatta to the unsanitary and crime ridden streets of Sydney Town. more

  • Old Melbourne Gaol

    Where: 377 Russell Street Melbourne 3000 VIC


    Winner of Australian and Victorian Tourism Awards. Explore Melbourne's dark past through this legal precinct comprising the original Gaol, Magistrate's Court and former Police City Watch House. Includes Watch House tours, Ned Kelly deathmask and interactive court room trials. more

  • Old Police Station Borroloola

    Where: 1 John St Borroloola 0854 NT


    The old police station houses a museum telling many stories of occupation, administration and mining in the Gulf Region more

  • Old Police Station Precinct

    Where: Lot 50 George St Timber Creek 0852 NT


    There are two buildings on within the Police Station Precinct. Both buildings provide a rare glimpse into a way of life for early police in the Northern Territory more

  • Old Umbrella Shop

    Where: 60 George Street Launceston 7250 TAS


    A rare glimpse into Tasmania’s retail heritage . Being one of the last surviving largely intact early twentieth century shops in Tasmania, you are sure to be fascinated and tantalized by the collection of rare umbrellas and early souvenir items on display in the original Blackwood display cases. The Shop is also well known for the large range of umbrellas stocked for sale as well as a variety of National Trust and Tasmanian products. more

  • Olivewood

    Where: Corner, Renmark Avenue (Sturt Highway) and Twenty-first Streets Renmark 5341 SA


    This 1880s wooden-floored house is furnished to the period of when it was built. The property remains a working orangery and the orchard is fully operational, including its famous olive trees. The collection includes old photographs, cameras, river charts, the Chaffey Red Book (The Australian Irrigation Colonies, Illustrated), plus equipment used in the fruit industry. more

  • Overland Corner Hotel

    Where: Old Coach Road Overland Corner 5345 SA


    Artefacts are on display throughout the Hotel and in the Old Post Office. Walking trails through the surrounding reserves, Overland Corner Reserve and Herons Bend Reserve. more

  • Overland Corner Reserve

    Where: Old Coach Road Overland Corner 5345 SA


    Overland Corner Reserve surrounds the historic Overland Corner Hotel established in 1859 on the northern banks of the River Murray downstream from the township of Barmera. more

  • Peacocks Chimney Stack

    Where: Blythe Street (Barrier Highway) Burra 5417 SA


    Peacock's Chimney Stack was used during the prosperous years of the copper mines. It was re-sited in 1971, following an appeal by the National Trust of South Australia. more

  • Penghana

    Where: 32 The Esplanade Queenstown 7467 TAS


    An impressive house and grounds dramatically situated overlooking Queenstown. Built for the mine Manager of Tasmania’s largest industrial enterprise in the early twentieth century, this splendid Federation style house was a powerful and imposing statement of authority and prominence within Tasmania. more

  • Peninsula Farm

    Where: Johnson Road Maylands 6051 WA


    As the site of one of the first farms in the colony and the earliest residence still standing in the metropolitan area, Peninsula Farm offers a unique opportunity to explore the first years of European settlement in Western Australia. more

  • Penneshaw Maritime and Folk Museum

    Where: Howard Drive Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island 5222 SA


    Former Hog Bay School. Now Penneshaw Maritime and Folk Museum. In the museum grounds is a grinding mill, made by Coombe, Mark Lane, London. more

  • Penola Telegraph Station and Post Office

    Where: Cnr Riddoch & Church St Penola 5277 SA


    The telegraph station was built by contractor, George Pannell following a petition presented to the House of Assembly on 14th June 1859 and was officially opened on August 13, 1860. more

  • Polly Woodside

    Where: 21 South Wharf Promenade South Wharf 3006 VIC


    All aboard for adventure on Melbourne's favorite tall ship.With an interactive gallery and an exciting program of events, this 1885 Belfast built iron ship is a rich reminder of Australia’s maritime history and provides an engaging experience for everyone. more

  • Port Elliot Railway Station

    Where: Henry Street Port Elliot 5212 SA


    The Port Elliot Railway Station, including the railway station and a renovated railway shed, is the site of the Port Elliot National Trust Historic Railway and Seaport Centre. more

  • Port Pirie Railway Station

    Where: Ellen Street Port Pirie 5540 SA


    The Port Pirie Railway Station, built in a striking Victorian Pavilion style in 1902, the former 1882 Customs House and Central Police Station form part of the Port Pirie Historic and Folk Museum. Features include steam shunting engine Port Pirie and Diprotodon bones more

  • Portable Iron Houses

    Where: 399 Coventry Street South Melbourne 3205 VIC


    The three houses on Coventry Street, South Melbourne are among the few 19th century prefabricated iron buildings remaining in the world. more

  • Portarlington Mill

    Where: Turner Court Portarlington 3223 VIC


    Built in 1856 Portarlington Mill is a significant example of early flour mill constructed of local sandstone and timbers.It is one of the few once-common flour mills in good condition and open to the public. more

  • Railway Station Katherine

    Where: 998 Railway Terrace Katherine 0850 NT


    Located on Railway Terrace, Katherine, the station was built in 1926 to service the extension of the North Australia Railway. more

  • Railway Station Pine Creek

    Where: 217a Main Terrace Pine Creek 0847 NT


    It can be seen as part of the whole railway precinct at any time. more

  • Redruth Gaol

    Where: Tregony Street Burra 5417 SA


    Redruth Gaol was erected in 1856 and was the first gaol in South Australia outside of Adelaide. The Gaol was closed in 1894. From1897 to 1922, the Gaol was reopened as a girls reformatory . The Gaol is famous for the filming of the 1979 movie Breaker Morant. more

  • Rippon Lea House and Gardens

    Where: 192 Hotham Street Elsternwick 3185 VIC


    Rippon Lea is a National Heritage Listed site and one of the last surviving examples of a grand estate. The estate has a large Victorian pleasure garden and fernery, an original mansion with 19th C kitchens, lake, waterfall, grotto, orchard and tower. more

  • Riversdale

    Where: Twynam Drive (end of Maud Street) Goulburn 2580 NSW


    Riversdale is renowned for its collection of fine Australian Colonial furniture, arts and craft – much of it provenanced to the Twynam family and for the garden with its 1918 espaliered apple trees and flowering shrubs. more

  • Roachdale Reserve

    Where: Kersbrook 5231 SA


    In a region extensively cleared for agriculture, Roachdale Reserve protects a rare piece of native bushland containing one of the few remaining stands of Long-leaved box forest, once widespread in the Mount Lofty Ranges. more

  • Robe CSIRO Research Station

    Where: Nora Creina Road Robe 5276 SA


    This CSIRO field station, which operated between 1935 and 1976, was the site of research on pasture trace minerals deficiency in the diet of local sheep. In 1956 Station scientist Hedley Marston detected abnormal levels of radioactive iodine in the thyroid glands of local sheep. more

  • Robe Customs House

    Where: Royal Circus Robe 5276 SA


    Built (1863) of limestone and brick quoins, the Customs House is a curiously shaped five-sided building with a panoramic view of Guichen Bay and the surrounding countryside. more

  • Rocky Bend Reserve

    Where: Moonta to Maitland Road Moonta 5558 SA


    A small reserve of native scrub and shrubland in a highly cleared area. A significant island of native plants and animals. One of the larger remnants in Central and Northern York Peninsula, and thus an important scientific and historical reference site. more

  • Royal Bull's Head Inn

    Where: Brisbane Street Drayton 4350 QLD


    A rare, surviving inn building of pre-Separation Queensland, from the period when Drayton was an important stopping place between Moreton Bay and the Darling Downs. more

  • Runnymede

    Where: 61 Bay Road | New Town, Hobart 7008 TAS


    A largely intact 19th century whaling family’s home named after Capt. Charles Bayley’s favourite ship, Runnymede. The house includes a nationally significant collection of whaling and maritime objects as well as art works and family possessions of the previous owner, Bishop Francis Nixon, Tasmania’s first Anglican Bishop. more

  • S.H. Ervin Gallery

    Where: Watson Road Observatory Hill (Millers Point) 2000 NSW


    The S.H. Ervin Gallery is one of Sydney ’s leading public art institutions housed in the historic National Trust Centre on Observatory Hill, The Rocks in Sydney. The Gallery’s exhibition program is designed to explore the richness and diversity of Australian art, both historical and contemporary, and present it in new contexts. more

  • Sampsons Cottage

    Where: 66 Ellen Street Port Pirie 5540 SA


    Heritage listed Sampson's Cottage, built around 1898, is now self-contained accommodation with great charm and authenticity. Bed and Breakfast bookings welcome. more

  • Sandison Reserve

    Where: Heron Way Hallett Cove 5158 SA


    Sandison Reserve contributes to an outstanding geological monument located on the coastline south of Adelaide of ancient glacial features, formed during the Permian Ice Age 270 million years ago. more

  • Saumarez Homestead

    Where: 230 Saumarez Road
    (Enter via Armidale Airport from the New England Highway) Armidale 2350 NSW


    This ten-hectare grazing property was first inhabited by British settlers led by Henry Dumaresq in the 1830s. Today it includes an elegant, extensive, fully furnished Edwardian homestead, built between 1888 and 1906, and 15 farm and other buildings dating up to 1910, with their collections of early farm equipment. more

  • Sharam Cottages

    Where: Petticoat Lane Penola 5277 SA


    The original Sharam Cottages for which the Lane is most famous is across the Lane on the south side. more

  • Sheriff Reserve

    Where: Burkas Road Naracoorte 5271 SA


    Open forest with dense bracken understorey. Features several large black wattle (Acacia mearnsii). Conserves a remnant woodland within an area which has been predominantly cleared for agriculture. more

  • Sir Henry Parkes Memorial School of Arts

    Where: Cnr Manners and Rouse Streets Tenterfield 2372 NSW


    Sir Henry Parkes “The Father of Federation” stood on the site that would become The National Trust's first museum where in October, 1889 he delivered a speech that in the words of Sir Robert Garran; “turned a vague ideal into a practical working program for Federation”. more

  • Stangate House and Garden

    Where: 3 Edgeware Road Aldgate 5154 SA


    Built by Adelaide architect Eric McMichael from plans drawn up in London in 1937–39. Bequeathed to the National Trust in the late 1960s. more

  • Stationmasters House

    Where: 217a Main Terrance Pine Creek 0847 NT


    Although the house is not open for general inspection its shady grounds can be experienced easily as part of the whole precinct. more

  • Stock Exchange Building and Arcade

    Where: 76 Mosman Street Charters Towers 4820 QLD


    A rare example of an arcade in Queensland, one with architecture adapted to climate and well-liked for its scale and barrel-vault entrance, the Stock Exchange Arcade is indicative of the rise and fall of fortune on the nineteenth century goldfield. Built to a design by Mark Cooper Day as the Royal Arcade, the Charters Towers Stock Exchange operated here from 1890 until 1916, following which the building fell in to disrepair. Today it operates once again as an arcade. more

  • Strathalbyn Police Station and Courthouse Museum

    Where: 1 Rankine Street Strathalbyn 5255 SA


    Completed in 1858 and 1867, the police station and courthouse buildings have a close association with the early development of Strathalbyn. more

  • Streaky Bay Museum

    Where: 42 Montgomerie Terrace Streaky Bay 5680 SA


    The 1901 school building has three large rooms, which house many displays – church altar from St Canutes Catholic Church, bird eggs and shell collections , and a Daisy Bates collection to name a few. more

  • Stuart Town Gaol

    Where: 8 Parsons St Alice Springs 0870 NT


    This property was constructed in 1907 and served as the town’s gaol until 1938. more

  • Tasma Terrace

    Where: 6 Parliament Place East Melbourne 3002 VIC


    Tasma Gallery has exhibitions and a gift shop and is the headquarters of NT Victoria. more

  • Tea Tree Gully Heritage Museum

    Where: 3 Perseverance Road Tea Tree Gully 5091 SA


    The Tea Tree Gully Branch of the National Trust have restored the building and converted it to a folk museum. more

  • The Briars

    Where: Nepean Highway Mount Martha 3934 VIC


    Situated at Mount Martha on the Mornington Peninsula, is a beautiful, rural property known as “The Briars,” a delightful old Homestead on 230 hectares, which is steeped in local history, flora and fauna. more

  • The Farm Shed Museum

    Where: 50 Moonta Road Kadina 5554 SA


    Extensive farm machinery collection interpreted through displays covering many aspects of life on the land. Her Side of the Story looks at the contribution of women on farms, from pioneer times to the present day. Kadina's Story looks at the town's development. more

  • The Federal Standard Printing Works

    Where: Main Street Chiltern 3683 VIC


    One of the few substantially intact provincial newspaper printeries remaining from the gold mining era. more

  • The Heights Heritage House and Garden

    Where: 140 Aphrasia Street Newtown 3220 VIC


    Pre–fabricated in Hamburg, Germany, the Heights was erected in 1854 and is the largest dwelling of its kind in Victoria. more

  • The Sheeps Back Museum

    Where: 36 MacDonnell Street Naracoorte 5271 SA


    The Sheep’s Back Museum tells the stories of the Australian wool industry in the local south-eastern area, known regionally as the Green Triangle, and the lives of the people involved. This accredited and award-winning museum is full of surprises. more

  • The Tench (Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site)

    Where: Corner of Brisbane & Campbell Streets Hobart 7000 TAS


    One of Australia’s most significant convict precincts is only a short walk or Red Decker bus ride from Hobart CBD (get off at the ‘Old Hobart Gaol’ stop). more

  • Tomago House

    Where: 421 Tomago Road Tomago 2322 NSW


    Built by barrister Richard Windeyer, Tomago House formed the nucleus of what was, in the mid 19th century, a vast agricultural estate and the country residence of one of the nation’s leading politico-legal figures. more

  • Townsville Heritage Centre

    Where: 5 Castling Street Townsville 4810 QLD


    The National Trust Heritage Centre provides an opportunity to see what life was like when it was slower. With its furniture and collection, ‘Currajong' shows the lifestyle of families prominent in the history of north Queensland. Of the other two buildings on site, the Worker’s Cottage is now the oldest identified residence of its kind in Townsville, while the Farmhouse is representative of the houses on farms that once surrounded and sustained Townsville. more

  • Tuggeranong Homestead

    Where: Cnr Ashley and Johnson Drive Richardson 2905 ACT


    The Cunningham family purchased the homestead in 1858 from Thomas Macquoid, the son of the Sheriff of the Supreme Court of New South Wales, who drowned in the wreck of the Dunbar in August 1857. more

  • Tumby Bay Branch Museum

    Where: Corner West Tce and Lipson Road Tumby Bay 5605 SA


    The Tumby Bay Branch Museum is housed in a circa 1950’s pre-fabricated school building, and was established by local historians. more

  • Victor Harbor Station Master's Residence

    Where: 2 Flinders Parade Victor Harbor 5211 SA


    Former Customs House and Station Master's Residence. Now houses the Encounter Coast Discovery Centre - a regional interpretive centre introducing visitors to the history and development of the south coast. more

  • Vienna Cottage

    Where: 38 Alexandra Street Hunters Hill 2110 NSW


    Vienna Cottage is a rare example of an artisan's home of the past century. Built in 1871, it was the home of John and Ann Hillman and their five children. more

  • Wallaroo Heritage and Nautical Museum

    Where: Jetty Road Wallaroo 5556 SA


    This solid limestone building was built 1865 and was the town's first post office. It now houses the Heritage and Nautical Museum. more

  • Warden Finnerty's Residence

    Where: 2 McKenzie Street Coolgardie 6429 WA


    In 1895, this residence was built for Coolgardie's first Resident Magistrate and Mining Warden, Irishman John Michael Finnerty. With the harsh climate in mind it was constructed of local stone and brick with tall windows with louvered shutters, large verandahs and a ventilated roof lantern. more

  • Watiparinga Reserve

    Where: South side of the end of Glouscester Ave, opposite Mitcham Council Reserve. Eden Hills 5050 SA


    Watiparinga is a restored woodland of Grey Box (Eucalyptus microcarpa) trees over a grassy understorey. more

  • Wilabalangaloo Reserve

    Where: Old Sturt Highway Berri 5343 SA


    The 92 ha Wilabalangaloo Reserve is located on the western bank of the River Murray on the outskirts of the Berri township. Now managed solely as a nature reserve. more

  • Willunga Courthouse Museum

    Where: 61 High Street Willunga 5172 SA


    The Willunga Courthouse Museum is located in a heritage-listed courthouse complex, with cells, stable and police residence, in a picturesque setting in the historic Willunga township. more

  • Willunga Courthouse Reserve

    Where: 61 High Street Willunga 5172 SA


    The Willunga Courthouse Reserve (area: 1.8 ha) The courthouse grounds reflect European settlement natural, pre-European landscape of Willa-ungga (place of green trees), as known by the Kaurna people who inhabited the area between the hills and the coast. more

  • Willunga Slate Museum

    Where: 61 High Street Willunga 5172 SA


    The Willunga Slate Museum is housed in the police stables of the old Willunga Courthouse and Police Station complex, which also houses the Willunga Courthouse Museum. Its grounds form part of the Willunga Courthouse Reserve. more

  • Wilson's Cottage

    Where: 2 Petticoat Lane Penola 5277 SA


    Wilson’s Cottage surrounded on two sides approximately two acre lavender garden.This four roomed stone cottage was built by William Wilson when he returned from the gold fields. more

  • Winns Bakehouse

    Where: Winns Road Coromandel Valley 5051 SA


    Winn's Bakehouse is a comprehensive museum depicting valley life from 1837. more

  • Wolston House

    Where: 223 Grindle Road Wacol 4076 QLD


    Wolston House is the oldest surviving residential farmhouse in Brisbane, a pre-Separation structure commenced in brick and completed in stone. The home of a Crown Commissioner for Lands, pastoralists, and dairy farmers, Wolston House on a rise overlooking the Brisbane River is both aesthetically pleasing and, in its fabric, indicative of quality techniques and workmanship of the nineteenth century. more

  • Wonnerup

    Where: Layman Road Busselton 6280 WA


    George Layman built a rough hut there in 1837. Four years later, having cleared a small farm by hand, he built a more substantial home for his family. Wonnerup is the site of an infamous murder of a young Aboriginal girl. more

  • Woodbridge

    Where: Ford Street. Woodbridge 6056 WA


    Woodbridge, the grand home of the Harper's nestled on the banks of the Swan River.. more

  • Woodford Academy

    Where: 90-95 Great Western Highway, (parking available in Woodford Ave) Woodford 2778 NSW


    Now known as Woodford Academy, this historic property has had a multi-layered use with parts of the building dating back to the 1830s. It is the oldest collection of buildings on the Blue Mountains, the basic structure being of sandstone. more

  • York Courthouse Complex

    Where: 132 Avon Terrace York 6302 WA


    From the lofty grandeur of the court room to the stark confines of the prison cells, the York Courthouse Complex tells the intriguing story of country policing from the days of the first convicts to the late twentieth century. more

  • Zara Clark Museum

    Where: 36 Mosman Street Charters Towers 4820 QLD


    A good example of a late Victorian commercial building, today’s ‘Zara Clark Museum’ had an earlier life as Bartlams Store. Its history reflects the need for the provision of essential goods and services to the pastoral and mining industries. The building has been associated with the Burns Philp and Company and with the firms of Wright Heaton and Bartlams. more