The community of Queensland is invited each year to participate in the National Trust of Australia (Queensland) Heritage Awards.

The National Trust of Australia (Queensland) Heritage Awards have for more than 25 years recognised best practice, innovation and achievement in Queensland’s heritage.  Each year, the National Trust of Australia (Queensland) awards outstanding projects and people that demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and celebration of Queensland’s environmental, built and cultural heritage.

The National Trust of Australia (Queensland) annual Heritage Awards is a prestigious acknowledgement of the quality of heritage work that is carried out across the State. The Awards seek to showcase the entrants and promote best practice, encourage innovation and collaboration, and celebrate the diversity of heritage places in Queensland.

Project Award Categories

This category relates to projects that involve interpretation, promotion and celebration of Queensland’s heritage such as:
• Events
• Exhibitions
• Tours
• Educational Activities and Programs
• Interpretation Works, i.e. Signage
• Community Engagement Programs.
• Museum Displays and Interactive Experiences
• Heritage Tours, Trails and/or Tracks
• Websites
• Digital Stories
• Oral Histories
• Open Days
• Conferences, Expositions and Symposiums
• Workshops or Seminars
• Videos or Film.

This category relates to projects involving the conservation of our built heritage. Such projects may include but are not limited to:
• Conservation works
• Repair works and
• Restoration.

Works may occur at places such:
• Buildings
• Landscapes
• Historic gardens
• Moveable heritage
• Industrial sites
• Memorials
• Statues
• Parks or
• Precincts.

Achievement Award Categories

This award recognises a National Trust Heritage Volunteer who has demonstrated a commitment above and beyond, over a number of years, and who has inspired others in their heritage work.

This award recognises an individual (under 35 years of age and/or with less than 5 years core heritage experience) who has demonstrated excellence in the development of heritage conservation skills and who has the potential to develop into an inspirational heritage leader.


At the National Trust of Queensland AGM in September 1974, it was moved that a John Herbert Award be awarded annually for ‘a meritorious restoration or presentation project.’

The first John Herbert Award was presented in September 1975 to the Goondiwindi Town Council for the restoration of the Goondiwindi Customs House.

In response to the growth of the event, in 2004 the awards were renamed the Queensland Heritage Awards. The John Herbert Memorial Award is presented to the most outstanding nomination each year.

The John Herbert Memorial Award honours John Herbert MLA who was a strong supporter of the newly formed National Trust of Queensland. He was a member of the Trust’s first Council and served as its president from 1971 to 1974

National Trust Queensland Heritage Awards

National Trust of Australia (Queensland) Brisbane Office

25 Mary Street, Brisbane QLD 4000

(07) 3223 6666


Sitewide contact form
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.