|Beaumont House built in 1849, was home of the first Anglican Bishop of Adelaide, Bishop Augustus Short, and later Sir Samuel Davenport, politician, horticulturist and founder of the olive oil industry in SA. |
The house has a distinctive Mediterranean character with an open brickwork parapet in soft terracotta colours and a central flat roof originally accessed by a staircase.
Beaumont House is now the State Office of the National Trust of South Australia.The office opening times are 9.00am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday (inclusive). The Burnside Branch of the National Trust of SA, which was formed in October 2005 is located at Beaumont House.
|Wilabalangaloo showcases a 1 km stretch of imposing ochre-coloured sandstone cliffs (about 30 metres high), providing spectacular scenery from the river and from the cliff-top viewing platform. The name of the reserve is thought to be based on the Aboriginal word meaning “place of red, yellow and brown stones”.|
Wilabalangaloo helps to conserve many plants, birds, animals and insects of particular conservation significance. It contains a significant remnant of native Mallee vegetation and wildlife habitat including representative specimens of the rare Blue-leaved Mallee (Eucalyptus cyanophylla), Native Jasmine (Jasminum didymum ssp lineare) and 9 species of rare birds.
|Step back in time to colonial Adelaide when you visit Ayers House Museum. Ayers House is the last of the grand mansions of Adelaide’s North Terrace boulevard, and one of the few examples of a historic home of one of Adelaide's prominent families. Visitors can explore the museum by guided tour, and learn about the social history of the period and life for Ayers House occupants both "above and below" stairs. The interiors of the house have been fully restored|
|Containing a wide variety of wildflowers and wildlife the Reserve features a popular nature trail. The Reserve contains remnant mallee vegetation in a highly developed agricultural region. Within this region less than two percent of the native vegetation remains. There are over 300 different indigenous plant species present on the Reserve, of which over 30% are of regional significance. The Reserve forms a wildlife corridor linking the eastern Mount Lofty Ranges with Lake Alexandrina. This is very important for many bird species as it provides them with food and protective cover.|
The best time to visit is during spring and early summer. Visitors are encouraged to use the conservation reserve as a walking trail.
|Redruth Gaol was erected in 1856 at a cost of £3200 and was the first gaol in South Australia outside of Adelaide. The Gaol was closed in 1894 and the prisoners transferred to Gladstone Gaol. In 1897, the Gaol was restored and reopened as a girls reformatory but closed in 1922. The Gaol is famous for the filming of the 1979 movie Breaker Morant.|
|Situated in the picturesque Koppio Hills, and surrounded by farmlands, the Koppio Smithy Museum sits on a one hectare site formerly the farm of Tom Brennand , the Koppio Blacksmith 1903. ‘Glenleigh’ a lovely thatch cottage (1890), is one of many features of the museum. |