A rare glimpse into Tasmania’s retail heritage.
Step into the Old Umbrella Shop for an authentic 19th – early 20th century shopping experience.
Built in the 1860s, the shop took on its current identity in 1920 when it became the premises of R Shott & Son. Robert Walter Shott had operated an umbrella shop in Melbourne from the 1880s and developed a patented folding umbrella frame. His son joined the Launceston business, manufacturing and selling quality souvenirs using Tasmanian timbers.
The Old Umbrella Shop houses a collection of rare umbrellas and early souvenirs in original blackwood display cases. In the spirit of the original business, the shop today has a wide range of umbrellas for sale, as well as Tasmanian-made gifts.