National Trust of Australia (Northern Territory) is a community-based organisation with a charter to promote the preservation and awareness of the heritage of the Northern Territory.

It is not, as many people think, a Government Organisation. Incorporated under an Act of Parliament in 1976, the National Trust is a member of the Australian Council of National Trusts (ACNT), a federation of Trusts in all States and Territories. Membership of the Trust Australia-wide is over 60,000 persons.

The most important objective of the National Trust is to promote the preservation of our heritage in whatever form that takes – buildings, places of historic, social, scientific or aesthetic significance or more intangible cultural heritage. All those who are committed to preserve and maintain for future generations the cultural heritage of Australia are welcome to join us.

The Trust in the Northern Territory maintains a property portfolio of fifteen historic buildings, several of which are open to the public. Some properties feature interpretive displays drawing on the history and setting of the sites. Other properties are leased and only open to the public on special occasions.

Through Branches in Darwin, Katherine, Borroloola, Tennant Creek and Alice Springs as well as a presence in Pine Creek, the National Trust reaches out into the community and monitors heritage issues throughout the Territory. Through the Branches, there are many opportunities to volunteer for the Trust. Community involvement in its work is highly valued. Without it, the Trust could not survive.

The National Trust has built and maintained an archive and research library relating to historic places. The Register of Significant Places is the most comprehensive collection of historic material relating to buildings and places available to researchers in the Northern Territory.

One of the ongoing major tasks of the National Trust is to act as an advocate for conservation and to lobby governments in matters of cultural heritage, legislation and conservation.


Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O’Halloran AM Administrator of the Northern Territory

Tim Dixon

Acting Vice-President/Branch Councillor (Larrakeyah)
Ms Chris Millowick

Treasurer/General Councillor
Ms Claire Kilgariff

Board Representative/General Councillor
Dr Ilka Schacht

Branch Councillors
Mr Eddie Webber (Gulf)

Mr Wayne Green (Tennant Creek)

Mrs Stephanie Hill (Katherine)

Mrs Brenda Shields (McDouall Stuart)


General Councillors
Mr Jared Archibald (Darwin Region)

Dr Bill Low (Alice Springs Region)

Ms Laura Rowe

Mr Lyndon Ross

Ms Kim Farrar