

MEDIA RELEASE

Date: 4 December 2023

For Immediate Release

2023 NATIONAL TRUST (ACT) HERITAGE AWARDS WINNERS

The National Trust of Australia (ACT) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 National Trust Heritage Awards.

The Awards recognise projects and individuals that have made a significant contribution to ACT heritage. Any project which promotes the conservation of, or fosters public knowledge about places, objects and issues that are significant to the heritage of the ACT is eligible for nomination.

Project awards have been made in six categories. Two awards were also made to individuals. The award winners are:

- Old Parliament House Fire Remediation Project, winner in the Architecture and Building Conservation category. Awarded to Museum of Australian Democracy OPH Heritage and Capital Projects, Manteena Security (Aust) Pty Ltd, International Conservation Services, Celia Cramer Conservation, Conservation Works, Eric Martin & Associates, Art and Archival.
- Jarramlee Nature Reserve Remediation and Restoration Project, winner in the Heritage Landscapes and the Natural Environment category. Awarded to Cord Civil Pty Ltd.
- Restoring the Natural Riparian Environment of the Tuggeranong Creek at the Tuggeranong Homestead Project, winner in the Local Community Projects category. Awarded to Minders of Tuggeranong Homestead Inc.
- Ngunnawal Night Tales Wildbark Fire Pit and Interpretation Program project, winner in the First People's Heritage category. Awarded to Andy O'Meara, Lauren Brown, Richie Allan, Richard Allan Jnr, Project Coordination, Innovative Metalworks, Fire by Design, ACT Heritage.
- Play On: From Grassroots to Glory Project, winner in the Heritage Education and Promotion category. Awarded to project leads Mikaela Danvers, Stephanie Trimble, Ashley Harrison and students.
- Digital Heritage: Collaborative Research and Promotion Project, winner in the Heritage Research Tool or Resource category. Awarded to Tony Maple and Trevor Lipscombe, on behalf of Canberra and Region Heritage Researchers.
- Ken Charlton AM: Winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award
- Nick Swain: Winner of the Outstanding Advocacy Award.

Trust President Gary Kent congratulated the recipients of the2023 National Trust Heritage Awards and said the Trust is particularly pleased with the diversity of nominations and that a number of community groups made nominations.

'It is clear that conserving our heritage is important to our community', he said.

'The quality of entries has never been higher, reflecting the professionalism and commitment of those engaged in the heritage sector.'

'We are pleased for the first time to honour individual achievement through our new Lifetime Achievement and Outstanding Advocacy Awards. Ken Charlton and Nick Swain are fitting inaugural recipients for their very significant contributions to heritage in the national capital', he said.

The awards were presented by the Minister for Heritage, Ms Rebecca Vassarotti MLA, at a ceremony on Monday 4 December 2023 at Canberra Museum and Gallery. All winners were awarded a plaque.

The sponsorship of the awards by Capital Holdings Group is greatly appreciated. The Trust also acknowledges funding from the ACT Government for the awards.

For further information please contact Gary Kent, president@nationaltrustact.org.au.





The National Trust receives support and funding from the ACT Government

Supported by

Proud supporters of the 2023 Heritage Awards