

The 62nd Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) was held at 6:15pm on Wednesday 10 November 2021

Venue: 1 Leake Street, Peppermint Grove WA 6011

MINUTES 2021

1. GENERAL WELCOME

Master of Ceremonies Mr Julian Donaldson welcomed members to the 62nd Annual General Meeting. On behalf of the National Trust of Western Australia, he acknowledged members, volunteers, staff, and friends present. Hon Bob Kucera APM (Chair), Mrs Carol Buckley AM LVO (Secretary), Mr Tutu Phong (Treasurer) and Ms Christine Lewis (Deputy Chair) were named as being present.

2. WELCOME TO COUNTRY

Upon Mr Donaldson's invitation, Irene Stainton, Chair of the Aboriginal Advisory Committee, gave the 'Welcome to Country'.

3. OPENING OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Mr Donaldson passed on apologies from the President, the Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC. As the Vice-President Colonel (Ret'd) Robert Mitchell CFD UE had retired earlier that year, in line with Trust Rules, he sought the permission of the members present at the AGM to appoint the Hon. Bob Kucera APM, Chair of Council, to chair the Annual General Meeting. Mr Donaldson asked for this request to be moved and seconded. After the motion was carried, the Chair, Hon. Bob Kucera APM, formally opened the 62nd Annual General Meeting at 6:25pm, the necessary quorum being present.

Moved: Jeremy Buxton Seconded: Hon Ljiljanna Ravlich CARRIED

4. PRESENT

59 members were noted as being present.

5. APOLOGIES

The Secretary Mrs Carol Buckley AM LVO informed the meeting of 19 apologies which were received and duly noted.

- 1. Diane Collins
- 7. Heat
- 2. Jane Allan
- 3. Ron Allan
- Jennie Kennedy
 Dr Ken Collins AM CitWA
- 6. Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC
- Heather Dayman
 Delphine Anderson
- 9. John Mercer
- 10. Robert Rossi
- 11. Louise Young
- 12. Milly Bartlett
- 13. Professor Jenny Gregory AM
- 14. Ross Gregory
- 15. Pam Hall
- 16. Dr Robyn Taylor
- 17. Mr Karl Haynes
- 18. Mrs Jocelyn Mitchell
- 19. Dr Hugo Bekle

6. NOTICE OF MEETING

The Chair informed the members present that the Notice of Meeting was provided to all members in accordance with the Trust Rules.

7. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 11 November 2020 was provided to members.

Resolved: That the Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Western Australia, held on Wednesday 11 November 2020 at The Grove Library, 1 Leake Street, Peppermint Grove, were certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Mrs Margaret Harper Seconded: Mr John Stephens CARRIED

8. BUSINESS ARISING

The Chair asked if there were any items arising from the Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting.

There were no matters to discuss.

9. PRESENTATION OF REPORTS

a) Presentation of the 2020 - 2021 Annual Report, the Chairman's Report and the President's Report The Chair of the National Trust of Western Australia, Hon. Bob Kucera APM, presented the Chairman's 2020/2021 Report as well as the President's 2020/2021 Report from the Annual Report from the published 2020/2021 Annual Report.

Resolved: The President's Report, the Chairman's Report and the 2020 – 2021 Annual Report were received and adopted. Moved: Elizabeth Re Seconded: Max Hipkins CARRIED

b) Presentation of Treasurer's Report:

Mr Tutu Phong, Treasurer, spoke to the Financial Statements for 2020 – 2021 confirming that the statements had received an unqualified report from the Auditor General of WA. These statements have been prepared in accordance with the Australian Accounting Standards and the Financial Management Act 2006 and Treasurer's Instructions. Mr Phong thanked Michael D'souza, Chief Financial Officer, and his team for implementing policies to ensure the financials are in order and of a high standing.

Resolved: That the National Trust of Western Australia Financial Statements for the year ending 30 June 2021 were received and adopted.

10. ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTED COUNCILLORS

The Chair advised that in accordance with Trust Rules, nominations were called from the membership to fill five vacant positions. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian on Tuesday 7 September 2021 by the Western Australian Electoral Commission and four nominations were received by the closing date.

The President confirmed that the following four nominees had been elected for a three-year term expiring November 2024:

- 1. Mr Tutu Phong
- 2. Mr Max Hipkins
- 3. Mr Ashley Zimpel
- 4. Mr Karl Haynes

Resolved: A vote of appreciation for those who participated in the 2021 Election and to all Councillors for their service to the National Trust and, in particular, those retiring and outgoing, Colonel (Ret'd) Robert Mitchell CFD, UE, Mrs Jocelyn Mitchell, Dr Robyn Taylor, and Ms Derren Belford. Moved: Margaret Harper Seconded: Mr John Stephens CARRIED

11. GENERAL BUSINESS

The Chair asked if there was any general business.

Mr Kenneth Moore expressed his disappointment at not being invited to the Woodbridge House 50th anniversary in 2021, despite his extensive support of Woodbridge. Mr Moore also queried entry costs for tour groups.

The Chair thanked Mr Moore for his ongoing membership and work with Probus and for taking groups to various properties before passing the questions raised to CEO Mr Donaldson to answer.

Mr Donaldson echoed the Chair's gratitude and responded by saying that the 50th Anniversary event had not been generally advertised due to COVID-19 capacity restrictions and that the invitation list had been quite restrictive. With respect to the question on entrance fees, the CEO explained membership gave free entrance to places worldwide with the exception of tours. This policy was adopted worldwide. However, Mr Moore's concerns were noted.

Phillida Preston thanked the National Trust for the recent lectures that have been held. She hoped they would become a regular occurrence. She also related she was very impressed with the Visitor Hub at Strawberry Hill / Barmup in Albany.

Mrs Margaret Harper noted no attendance had been recorded for her at meetings last year in the Annual Report.

The Chair apologised for the oversight which would be corrected. He stated that Mrs Harper is one of the strongest contributors on the Council and a member of the Harper Family, to whom the National Trust owe a debt of gratitude for the Woodbridge property.

12. CLOSURE OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 6:55 pm.

After the AGM, the Margaret Feilman Awards were presented to Dr Robyn Taylor, an apology for the event, and to Mrs Judy Williams.

Refreshments followed.