

The 58<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) was held at: 5.30pm on Wednesday 8 November 2017

#### Venue:

The Constitutional Centre, 40 Havelock Street, West Perth

# **MINUTES**

## 1. GENERAL WELCOME

The Master of Ceremonies, Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, welcomed members to the 58<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting and acknowledged Member, Volunteers, Staff and Friends present. It was also noted Mr Max Kay AM CitWA (President), Hon Michael Murray AM QC (Chair), Hon Dr Ken Michael AC (retired Governor) and Hob Bob Kucera APM who recently joined the National Trust Council as the Premier's representative, were present at the meeting.

## 2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

It was acknowledged that this meeting was held on the land of the Wadjuk people of the Noongar nation. Respects were paid to Elders past and present.

#### 3. OPENING OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Members of the National Trust of Western Australia were advised that the necessary quorum was present to permit the meeting to proceed and as such the President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Mr Max Kay AM CitWA, formally opened the 58<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting at 5.35pm.

#### 4. PRESENT

70 Members were noted as being present.

# 5. APOLOGIES

The Secretary, Ms Helen Cogan was called upon to inform the meeting of 35 apologies which were received and duly noted.

Moira Bailey Kim Fraser Alasdair Millar **David Fraser** Robyn Millar **Gordon Barnett** Valerie Gordon-Barnett Ian Boersma **Judith Murray** Stephen Gowland Rob O'Connor Gloria Brewer Graeme Bridge Pauline Handford Peter Shannon Alan Briggs Peter Handford Henrietta Sharpe Fiona Bush Madeline Hinson Carol Smith Merle Caughey John James **Linda Stanbury** 

Chris Corry-Thomas Michael Jardine Pamela Statham-Drew

Sue Corry-Thomas lan Cowie Sandra Curtis Nick Drew Lillian Jennings Ian MacLeod Meryle Manoy Jeanette McQueen Sherry Thomas Alan Wade Margaret Warden

## 6. NOTICE OF MEETING

The President informed the members present that the Notice of Meeting was provided to all members on 18 October 2017 according to protocols.

# 7. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 9 November 2016 was provided to Members.

Resolved: That the Minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Western Australia, held on Wednesday 9 November 2016 at the Constitutional Centre, 40 Havelock Street, West Perth, be certified as a true and accurate record.

**Moved: Prof Jenny Gregory** 

Seconded: Hon Michael Murray AM QC

**CARRIED** 

## 8. BUSINESS ARISING

The President asked if there were any items arising from the minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting.

There was no business arising.

## 9. PRESENTATION OF REPORTS

## a) Presentation of the Annual Report

The President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Mr Max Kay AM CitWA, presented the President's Report for 2016/17 and the 2016/17 Annual Report for adoption.

Resolved: The Chairman's Report, the President's Report and the 2016-2017 Annual Report be

received.

**Moved: Mr Max Hipkins** 

**Seconded: Mr Roger Jennings** 

**CARRIED** 

# b) Presentation of Treasurer's Report

Mr John Palermo, Treasurer, spoke to the Financial Statements for 2016/17 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He also provided an overview of the National Trust's financial position.

Resolved: That the National Trust of Western Australia Financial Statements for the year ending 30

June 2017 be received and adopted.

Moved: Mr John Palermo

Seconded: Mr Grant Godfrey

**CARRIED** 

#### 10. ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTED COUNCILLORS

The President advised that in accordance with Trust Rules amendment no.8, nominations were called from the membership to fill six vacant positions. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian on Friday 14 July 2017 advising that nominations would be open on Friday 28 July 2017. Six nominations were received by the closing date on Friday 11 August 2017.

The President confirmed that the following six nominees have been elected for a three year term expiring November 2020.

- 1. Ms Helen Cogan
- 2. Dr Ken Collins AM CStJ CitWA
- 3. Mr Graham Goerke
- 4. Mr Roger Jennings
- 5. Ms Christine Lewis
- 6. Hon Dr Ken Michael AC

Congratulations were given to these Councillors who commenced their appointment at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting. A vote of appreciation to those who participated in the elections and to all Councillors for their service to the National Trust was given.

## 11. NEW TRUST RULES

The President advised that members had been provided with a copy of the new Trust Rules and a follow-up explanatory statement from Jackson McDonald.

Resolved: The Old Trust Rules be replaced and the New Trust Rules, as presented, be adopted.

Moved: Hon Michael Murray AM QC

**Seconded: Mr Max Hipkins** 

**CARRIED** 

#### 12. GENERAL BUSINESS

A member inquired about how many properties were managed by the National Trust of Western Australia and the Chief Executive Officer advised that 80 properties were currently being managed.

#### 13. CLOSURE OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 5.50pm.

## 14. RECOGNITION OF LONG STANDING MEMBER

The Master of Ceremonies, Mr Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, acknowledged the presence of Mr Peter Thorn OAM who has been a member of the National Trust since 1959. Mr Thorn OAM was an inaugral Council Member as the State President of the Tree Society of Western Australia. Mr Thorn OAM shared some of his recollections of the National Trust.

#### 15. AWARDS PRESENTATION

The Master of Ceremonies, Mr Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, invited the President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Mr Max Kay AM CitWA, to present the Volunteer Awards.

National Trust Volunteer Recognition Awards are presented annually to volunteers for outstanding service to our organisation. Volunteers are vital to the National Trust. They provide knowledge, expertise and know how in the operation of our organisation and work tirelessly for the cause of sharing heritage with our communities, and all Western Australians.

The following awards were presented:

## **5 Year Recognition Award**

In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust for Western Australia for over 5 years.

- Marian Byrne
- Sandra Curtis
- Stephen Gowland
- Frank McDonald
- John Pace
- Christine Lewis
- David Shopland
- Michael Sofoulis
- Linda Stanbury

## 10 Year Recongition Award

In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Western Australia for over 10 years.

Margaret Warden

## 15 Year Recongition Award

In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Western Australia for over 15 years.

- Sandra Cailes
- Geoff Moor
- Judith Murray
- Vince Taylor

## **20 Year Recongition Award**

In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Western Australia for over 20 years.

- Jan Barker
- Col Caughey

## 25 Year Recongition Award

In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Western Australia for over 25 years.

• Col (Ret'd) Robert Mitchell CFD, UE

## **Certificate of Appreciation**

In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Western Australia.

- Lyall Page
- Carol Smith

## **16. CONCLUSION**

The Master of Ceremonies, Mr Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, advised members of a number of upcoming events by the National Trust. He invited members to make their way to the Old Observatory for light refreshments, noting Palmer Wines had generously donated wine which was available as part of the refreshments.