

The 61th Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) was held at 6:10pm on Wednesday 11 November 2020

Venue: The Grove Library, 1 Leake Street, Peppermint Grove WA 6011

MINUTES

1. GENERAL WELCOME

The Master of Ceremonies, Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, welcomed members to the 61th Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the members, council, volunteers, staff and friends present. It was noted that Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC (President), Hon Bob Kucera APM (Chair), Mr Tutu Phong (Treasurer) Ms Christine Lewis (Deputy Chair) and Colonel (ret'd) Robert Mitchell CFD, UE (Vice President) were present at the meeting.

The Chief Executive Officer acknowledged that it was 61 years ago on 4th November 1959 that the first meeting of the National Trust of Western Australia was held.

2. WELCOME TO COUNTRY and NAIDOC WEEK ADDRESS

Irene Stainton was invited to give the "Welcome to Country" and to provide the NAIDOC Week Address.

3. OPENING OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The members of the National Trust of Western Australia were advised that the necessary quorum was present to permit the meeting to proceed and as such the President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC, formally opened the 61st Annual General Meeting at 6.10pm.

4. PRESENT

52 members were noted as being present.

5. APOLOGIES

Julian Donaldson was called upon on behalf of the Secretary to inform the meeting of 13 apologies which were received and duly noted.

- 1. Derryn Belford
- 2. Andrea Henning
- 3. Ian Boersma
- 4. Ian MacLeod AM
- 5. Robert Rossi

- 6. Paige Powel
- 7. Yvonne Varey
- 8. Phillida Preston
- 9. Pamela Statham Drew
- 10. Nick Drew

Anita Clayton
Jocelyn Mitchell
Helen Cogan

6. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 13 November 2019 was provided to members.

Resolved: That the Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Western Australia, held on Wednesday 13 November 2019 at the Constitutional Centre, cnr Havelock Street & Parliament Place, West Perth, were certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Dr Hugo Bekle

Seconded: Mr Max Hipkins

CARRIED

7. BUSINESS ARISING

The President asked if there were any items arising from the Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting.

There was no business arising.

8. PRESENTATION OF REPORTS

a) Presentation of the Annual Report

The President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC, presented the President's Report for 2019/20, as well as presenting the Chairman's Report for 2019/20 from the Annual Report and the published 2019/20 Annual Report for adoption.

Resolved: The President's Report, the Chairman's Report and the 2019 - 2020 Annual Report were received and adopted.

Moved: Hon Ljiljanna Ravlich

Seconded: Mrs Margaret Harper

CARRIED

b) Presentation of Treasurer's Report

Mr Tutu Phong, Treasurer, spoke to the Financial Statements for 2019/20 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He congratulated Chief Financial Officer, Mr Michael D'souza, and the National Trust Finance team for their excellent work throughout the year.

Due to COVID-19 losses incurred but were able to be recouped from the government.

Mr Phong confirmed that the financial performance of 2019/20 was within expectations and that the National Trust was in a position to successfully deliver plans and services for 2021 and beyond.

Resolved: That the National Trust of Western Australia Financial Statements for the year ending 30 June 2020 were received and adopted.

Moved: Mr Tutu Phong

Seconded: Mr Jeremy Buxton

CARRIED

9. ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTED COUNCILLORS

The President advised that in accordance with Trust Rules, nominations were called from the membership to fill five vacant positions. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian. Seven nominations were received by the closing date.

The President confirmed that the following six nominees have been elected for a three year term expiring November 2023:

- 1. Carol Buckley MVO
- 2. Dr Kenneth Collins AM CStJ CitWA
- 3. Mr Graham Goerke
- 4. Mr Roger Jennings
- 5. Ms Christine Lewis
- 6. Hon Dr Ken Michael AC

Congratulations were given to these Councillors who commence their appointment at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting.

In addition to the results of the election, the President also acknowledged that the following had been nominated on Council:

- Hon Ljiljanna Ravlich
- Dr Fiona Bush OAM
- Professor John Stephens

A vote of appreciation was given to those who participated in the elections and to all Councillors for their service to the National Trust, including the outgoing Councillors Helen Cogan and Steven Errington.

10. GENERAL BUSINESS

The President asked if there was any general business.

A concern was raised with reference to the potential introduction of cable cars at Kings Park and what would be the position of the National Trust.

Julian Donaldson responded that the National Trust would address the issue at the appropriate time.

11. CLOSURE OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 6:50pm.