

The 60th Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) was held at 5.30pm on Wednesday 13 November 2019

Venue:

The Constitutional Centre, cnr Havelock Street & Parliament Place, West Perth

MINUTES

1. GENERAL WELCOME

The Master of Ceremonies, Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, welcomed members to the 60th Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the members, council, volunteers, staff and friends present. It was noted that Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC (President), Hon Michael Murray AM QC (Chair), Ms Helen Cogan (Secretary) and Mr Tutu Phong (Treasurer) were present at the meeting.

The Chief Executive Officer acknowledged that it was 60 years ago on 4th November 1959 that the first meeting of the National Trust of Western Australia was held.

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

It was acknowledged that this meeting was held on the land of the Wadjuk people of the Noongar nation. Respects were paid to Elders past and present.

3. OPENING OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The members of the National Trust of Western Australia were advised that the necessary quorum was present to permit the meeting to proceed and as such the President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC, formally opened the 60th Annual General Meeting at 5.31pm.

4. PRESENT

41 members were noted as being present.

5. APOLOGIES

The Secretary, Ms Helen Cogan was called upon to inform the meeting of 19 apologies which were received and duly noted.

Dr Ken Collins AM
Prof. Jane Lydon
Maurice Owen
Prof. Jenny Gregory AM
Hon. Robert Kucera APM MLA
Dr Robyn Taylor
Alan Briggs
Dr Steve Errington
Dr Carol Pocock
Graeme Goerke
Robert Rossi
Maurice Owen
Pamela Drew
Alan Briggs
Dr Carol Pocock
Vickie Reynolds

6. NOTICE OF MEETING

The President informed the members present that the Notice of Meeting was provided to all members on 24 October 2019 according to the Trust Rules.

7. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 14 November 2018 was provided to members.

Resolved: That the Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Western Australia, held on Wednesday 14 November 2018 at the Constitutional Centre, cnr Havelock Street & Parliament Place, West Perth, were certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Colonel (Ret'd) Robert Mitchell CFD UE

Seconded: Mr Roger Jennings

CARRIED

8. BUSINESS ARISING

The President asked if there were any items arising from the Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting.

There was no business arising.

9. PRESENTATION OF REPORTS

a) Presentation of the Annual Report

The President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC, presented the President's Report for 2018/19, as well as presenting the Chairman's Report for 2018/19 from the Annual Report and the published 2018/19 Annual Report for adoption.

Resolved: The President's Report, the Chairman's Report and the 2018 - 2019 Annual Report were received and adopted.

Moved: Hon. Dr Ken Michael AC Seconded: Prof. John Stephens

CARRIED

b) Presentation of Treasurer's Report

Mr Tutu Phong, Treasurer, spoke to the Financial Statements for 2018/19 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He congratulated Chief Financial Officer, Mr Michael D'souza, and the National Trust Finance team for their excellent work throughout the year.

Mr Phong confirmed that the financial performance of 2018/19 was within expectations and in a position to successfully deliver plans and services for 2020 and beyond.

Resolved: That the National Trust of Western Australia Financial Statements for the year ending 30 June 2019 were received and adopted.

Moved: Mr Tutu Phong

Seconded: Mr Grant Godfrey

CARRIED

10. ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTED COUNCILLORS

The President advised that in accordance with Trust Rules, nominations were called from the membership to fill five vacant positions. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian on 12 July 2019 advising that nominations would open on 26 July 2019. Four nominations were received by the closing date on 9 August 2019.

The President confirmed that the following four nominees have been elected for a three year term expiring November 2022:

- Mr Geoff Moor
- 2. Hon. Michael Murray AM QC
- 3. Prof. Jenny Gregory AM
- 4. Ms Margaret Harper

Congratulations were given to these Councillors who commence their appointment at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting.

In addition to the results of the election, the President also acknowledged that:

- UWA has nominated Dr Shino Konishi who will succeed Professor Jane Lydon
- Tourism Western Australia has renominated Derryn Belford for another 3 year term
- The Royal Society of Western Australia has renominated Dr Hugo Bekle for another 3 year term

A vote of appreciation was given to those who participated in the elections and to all Councillors for their service to the National Trust, including the outgoing Councillors, Grant Godfrey and Prof. Jane Lydon.

11. GENERAL BUSINESS

The President asked if there was any general business.

There was no general business raised.

12. CLOSURE OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 5.52pm.