

The 59th Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) was held at: 5.30pm on Wednesday 14 November 2018

Venue:

The Constitutional Centre, cnr Havelock Street & Parliament Place, West Perth

MINUTES

1. GENERAL WELCOME

The Master of Ceremonies, Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, welcomed members to the 59th Annual General Meeting and acknowledged Members, Volunteers, Staff and Friends present. It was also noted that the Trust President, Mr Max Kay AM CitWA, was an apology, and that Ms Christine Lewis (Vice President), Colonel (Ret'd) Robert Mitchell CFD UE (Vice President), Hon Michael Murray AM QC (Chair), Mr John Palermo (Treasurer), Hon Dr Ken Michael AC (Deputy Chair) and Ms Helen Cogan (Secretary) were present at the meeting.

The Chief Executive Officer acknowledged the Annual General Meeting as Mr John Palermo's final Annual General Meeting in his role as Treasurer and thanked him for his service as a member of Council since 2006.

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

It was acknowledged that this meeting was held on the land of the Wadjuk people of the Noongar nation. Respects were paid to Elders past and present.

3. OPENING OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Members of the National Trust of Western Australia were advised that the necessary quorum was present to permit the meeting to proceed and as such the Vice President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Ms Christine Lewis, formally opened the 59th Annual General Meeting at 5.35pm.

4. PRESENT

65 Members were noted as being present.

5. APOLOGIES

The Secretary, Ms Helen Cogan was called upon to inform the meeting of 15 apologies which were received and duly noted.

Anthea Harris	Vyonne Geneve
John Stephens	Derryn Belford
Max Kay AM CitWA	Virginia Bristowe
Kavita Forman	Ken Collins AM CStJ CitWA

Graham Cowell Lorraine Danya Patricia Kailis Adelphe King Jane Lydon Roger Jennings Martin Colgan Lennie McCall

6. NOTICE OF MEETING

The Vice President informed the members present that the Notice of Meeting was provided to all members on 5 September 2018 according to the Trust Rules.

7. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 8 November 2017 was provided to Members.

Resolved: That the Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Western Australia, held on Wednesday 8 November 2017 at the Constitutional Centre, cnr Havelock Street & Parliament Place, West Perth, was certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Hon Dr Ken Michael AC

Seconded: Mr Max Hipkins

CARRIED

8. BUSINESS ARISING

The Vice President asked if there were any items arising from the Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting.

There was no business arising.

9. PRESENTATION OF REPORTS

a) Presentation of the Annual Report

The Vice President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Ms Christine Lewis, presented the President's Report for 2017/18, the Chairman's Report for 2017/18 and the 2017/18 Annual Report for adoption.

Resolved: The President's Report, the Chairman's Report and the 2017-2018 Annual Report were received and adopted.

Moved: Ms Christine Lewis

Seconded: Ms Helen Cogan

CARRIED

b) Presentation of Treasurer's Report

Mr John Palermo, Treasurer, spoke to the Financial Statements for 2017/18 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He congratulated the Chief Financial Officer, Mr Shaun McLeod, and the National Trust Finance Team on the achievement as one of the 2018 best practice entities for financial reporting and controls named by the Office of the Auditor General.

Mr Palermo reflected on his service as a Councillor for the National Trust since 2006, as well as providing an overview of the National Trust's financial position.

Resolved: That the National Trust of Western Australia Financial Statements for the year ending 30 June 2018 was received and adopted.

Moved: Mr John Palermo

Seconded: Mr Grant Godfrey

CARRIED

10. ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTED COUNCILLORS

The Vice President advised that in accordance with Trust Rules, nominations were called from the membership to fill five vacant positions. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian on Friday 13 July 2018 advising that nominations would be open on Friday 27 July 2018. Four nominations were received by the closing date on Friday 10 August 2018.

The Vice President confirmed that the following four nominees have been elected for a three year term expiring November 2021.

- 1. Mr Max Hipkins
- 2. Colonel (Ret'd) Robert Mitchell CFU UE
- 3. Mr Tutu Phong
- 4. Dr Robyn Taylor

Congratulations were given to these Councillors who commence their appointment at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting. A vote of appreciation to those who participated in the elections and to all Councillors for their service to the National Trust was given.

11. GENERAL BUSINESS

A National Trust member raised his concern over the diminishing wooden jetties in Western Australia, particularly in Carnarvon and Esperance. The Trust acknowledged it would like to be able to make a contribution to the jetties, however the Trust is unable to assist with their conservation as they were not in its care or management. It can and will however advocate to support these jetties.

12. CLOSURE OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 5.55pm.

13. AWARDS PRESENTATION

The Master of Ceremonies, Mr Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, invited the Vice President of the National Trust of Western Australia, Ms Christine Lewis, to present a special Volunteer Award for recognition of over 50 years of service.

National Trust Volunteer Recognition Awards are presented annually to volunteers for outstanding service to our organisation. Volunteers are vital to the National Trust. They provide knowledge, expertise and know-how in the operation of our organisation and work tirelessly for the cause of sharing heritage with our communities, and all Western Australians.

Ms Roslyn Stewart OAM was presented with her award for over 50 years of service

14. PERFORMANCE

Ms Gemma Turvey, Gallop House Composer in Residence spoke about her experience and introduced Guest Artist, Louise McKay who played a preview performance on the Cello of two of Ms Turvey's compositions.

15. CONCLUSION

The Master of Ceremonies, Mr Julian Donaldson, Chief Executive Officer, encouraged members to share the benefits of being a member and take a membership brochure. He invited members to make their way to the Old Observatory for light refreshments, noting Palmer Wines had generously donated wine which was available as part of the refreshments.