NATIONAL TRUST OF AUSTRALIA (ACT) MINUTES OF 45TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD BY TELECONFERENCE, THURSDAY 3 DECEMBER 2020



1. OPENING OF MEETING

The President, Gary Kent, opened the meeting at 6:01 pm. The President thanked everyone for attending this meeting which was being held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and gave a brief overview on how members could participate during the meeting using the technology.

2. ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

The following members were present: Gary Kent, Jane Goffman, Judy Brooks, Liz McMillan, Peter Dowling, Di Dowling, Marianne Albury-Colless, Linda Roberts, Bea Duncan, Alan Duncan, Margaret Webber, Eric Martin, Trevor Lipscombe, Anthony Maple, Graham Carter, Sam Cook, Lynn Parry, Anne Forest, Scott McAlister, John Tucker, Joan Lipscombe, Gary Watkins (minute taker).

Section 23.1 of the National Trust of Australia (ACT) Constitution states that 20 members of the Trust must be personally present to form a quorum for the transaction of business at an AGM. As there were 20 or more members present at the time of meeting opening, a quorum was declared and the meeting proceeded.

Helen Wilson, Joanne Adler and Warren Nicholls joined the meeting as it was proceeding.

Apologies were received from: Karen Moore, Elizabeth Storrs, Mary Johnston, Richard Johnston, Valda McCabe, Kaye Beagle, John Beagle, Margaret Reid (our Patron), Matt Watts, Geraldine Martin, Rosemary Hollow.

Proxies were received from Garth Setchell, Andrew Freeman, and Margaret Aston, all appointing the chair as their proxy.

3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF 44TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ON THURSDAY, 17 OCTOBER 2019

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting had been circulated to members with the notice of meeting. No amendments were requested. It was moved Eric Martin, seconded Di Dowling that the minutes be accepted. The motion was carried.

4. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

The President's Report had been circulated with the meeting papers. The President, Gary Kent, took his report as read but highlighted some points, particularly thanking everyone for adapting to the challenges caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. He also highlighted the welcome inclusion of ongoing funding for the Trust in the new Parliamentary Agreement after the ACT Election. He added that he has already established a good working relationship with the new Minister for Heritage.

It was moved Di Dowling, seconded Linda Roberts that the President's Report be accepted. The motion was carried.

5. PRESENTATION OF COMMITTEE REPORTS

The Committee Reports had been circulated with the meeting papers and were taken as read.

Eric Martin requested that an amendment be made to the Heritage Committee report, to add content on the 2019 Heritage Awards, which he will provide. No other amendments were requested. It was moved Eric Martin, seconded Marianne Albury-Colless that the amended report be accepted. The motion was carried.

There was a brief discussion on the Tours and Events Committee Report. It was moved Tony Maple, seconded Di Dowling that the Report be accepted. The motion was carried.

6. PRESENTATION OF THE FINANCIAL REPORT AND AUDITOR'S REPORT

The Financial Report including the Auditor's Report had been circulated with the meeting papers and was taken as read. The Treasurer, Scott McAlister, indicated that the Trust asks the Auditor for an audit review, rather than a full audit based on the Trust's size and use of an independent bookkeeper. The Auditor does still give an opinion, based on his review, if the accounts are fairly presented.

The Treasurer highlighted that the Trust ended the year in a positive position due to COVID-19 assistance from the Government. If these were taken away, the Trust would have ended the year with a slight shortfall.

There were no questions on the report. The Treasurer, Scott McAlister moved, seconded Jane Goffman that the reports be accepted. The motion was carried.

7. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR

It was moved by the Treasurer, Scott McAlister, seconded Peter Dowling, that our current Auditors, Bandle McAneney and Company continue as the Trust's auditor. The motion was carried.

8. ADOPTION OF NEW CONSTITUTION

A copy of the current constitution, the proposed draft constitution, and a comparison sheet had been sent to members with the notice of meeting. The documents were taken as read.

The President indicated that this item was a special resolution and required the concurrence of 75% of those voting on the motion to be adopted. The President and the Secretary, Gary Watkins, both gave some brief comments highlighting the need for a new constitution and the approach that had been taken using the template from the Australian Charities and Not for Profits Commission (ACNC).

Members were invited to speak either in favour or against the acceptance of the resolution. No comments were made. The resolution as per the meeting papers "That the proposed constitution attached to the notice of meeting be adopted as the Constitution of the National Trust of Australia (ACT)", was moved by Gary Watkins and seconded by Scott McAlister. The motion was passed unanimously without dissent and was carried.

9. VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR

The President indicated that he was delighted to announce that Trevor Lipscombe had been decided by Council as the 2020 Volunteer of the Year. Congratulations were offered by those present.

The President made some brief remarks on Trevor Lipscombe's service to the Trust, particularly his leadership of the Heritage Walks program with Mary Johnston.

Trevor Lipscombe was invited to make some remarks and thanked others who had helped make the program a success, including Mary Johnston as co-convenor, walk helpers and walk leaders, some of whom are not members of the Trust but still give their time in support of the program. He indicated the initial intent was to focus on the lake and its heritage listing, which is still in progress. However, he would like to see more multicultural walks to tell the stories of their communities in Canberra.

10. ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The President advised that in accordance with the Constitution, the following Councillors stood down at the AGM, but were eligible for re-appointment: Graham Carter, Eric Martin, Scott McAlister, Trevor Wilson, Marianne Albury-Colless, Jane Goffman.

Council members who continue for the second year of their term are: Peter Dowling, Gary Kent, Linda Roberts, Gary Watkins. The President noted that John Tucker has resigned from Council effective the date of the AGM and thanked him for his longstanding service on Council.

Nominations had been received from Marianne Albury-Colless, Graham Carter, Jane Goffman, Scott McAlister and Eric Martin. It was noted that Trevor Wilson had not sought re-election to Council and was thanked for his service.

It was moved Di Dowling, seconded Linda Roberts, that Marianne Albury-Colless, Graham Carter, Jane Goffman, Scott McAlister and Eric Martin be declared elected. The motion was carried and the candidates were declared elected.

As there were three vacancies on Council, an additional nomination had been received from Sam Cook. Sam Cook provided a brief background on his skills and experience. Sam Cook was nominated from the floor of the meeting by Gary Kent, seconded Gary Watkins. The motion was carried and Sam Cook was declared elected.

The President invited any further nominations from the floor to fill the two remaining vacancies. No further nominations were received. The President indicated that the Council does have the ability to appoint further persons to

Council to fill those vacancies, and if there were other members interested in serving on Council they should approach him.

11.OTHER BUSINESS

Nil.

12.CLOSURE OF MEETING

The President thanked everyone for attending the meeting. He reminded those present about the Christmas Party being held on Sunday at Kambah Woolshed.

The meeting was closed at 6:41pm.