

65th Annual General Meeting

by Zoom webinar

Saturday 21 November 2020 at 10am

Agenda

9.45am	Waiting room available for meeting
10am	Host (Darren Peacock) opens the meeting and members join the webinar. Host explains how the webinar will work.

	1.	GENERAL BUSINESS
10.10am	1.1	Welcome by NTSA President, Deborah Morgan and acknowledgement of country.
	1.2	Apologies
	1.3	Minutes of previous AGM 16 November 2019
	1.4	Business arising from Minutes of previous AGM
	1.5	Appointments to NTSA Council

10.20	2.	REPORTS
10.20	2.1	President's Report on behalf of NTSA Council (Ms Deborah Morgan)
10.35	2.2	Chief Executive Officer's Report (Dr Darren Peacock)
10.45	2.3	Financial Report (James Harvey, Chair, Audit Finance & Governance Committee)
10.55	2.4	President invites questions online

	3.	OTHER BUSINESS
11.15	3.1	Retirements from NTSA Council
	3.2	2020 NTSA Volunteer Awards
	3.3	Any other business

Close of AGM

NATIONAL TRUST OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA



64th Annual General Meeting

North Adelaide Community Centre 176 Tynte Street North Adelaide Saturday 16 November 2019 at 10am

MINUTES (draft)

1.	GENERAL BUSINESS
1.1	The President, Ms Deborah Morgan, welcomed members and guests to the 64 th NTSA Annual General Meeting and gave an Acknowledgement to Country. She then welcomed our guests: representatives from <i>Eco Action KI</i> and <i>Protect our Heritage Alliance</i> .
1.2	Apologies The following apologies were received and accepted: Deane and Carolyn Kemp, Michael Boylan, Susan Morgan, Mark Parnell MLC, Jo Petchell, Trevor and Maxine Conlon, Paul Leadbeter, Norman Etherington, Trevor Ashton, Margaret Brook, Claire Shuttleworth, Joan Murphy, Marcia Cooke, Leigh Taylor and Lyndell Davidge.
1.3	Confirmation of Minutes of previous AGM 17 November 2018 The minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 17 November 2018 were confirmed. Moved: Brian McMillan Seconded: Pat Netschitowsky Carried
1.4	Business Arising – Nil
1.5	Appointment of the Auditor Deborah Morgan advised that we have re-engaged our current Auditor, Nexia Edwards Marshall, for a further 3-year term to 2021.
1.6	Appointments to Council Deborah Morgan reported that, following a call from nominations for three vacancies, three new members have been appointed to serve on NTSA Council for a two year term: Graham Hancock, Nigel Ridgway and Di Wilkins.

2.	REPORTS
2.1	President's report on behalf of NTSA Council The President gave a report (see President's Introduction in the Annual Report 2018/19).
2.2	Chief Executive Officer's report The Chief Executive Officer, Dr Darren Peacock, spoke to the 6 objectives identified in the Strategic Plan as per the Annual Report 2018/19.
2.3	Financial Report

Councillor and Chair of the Audit, Finance & Governance Committee, James Harvey, spoke to the Financial Report for 2018/19 as per the Annual Report. He advised that a full copy of the Financial Statements was available for those who wished to have a copy. Deborah Morgan invited questions relating to these three reports. Patricia Michell asked for any further information on the future of Martindale Hall, which was provided by the CEO. He explained that the Trust has not heard any more news about future plans for the property, but that we are still advocating for Martindale Hall with the Environment Minister, David Speirs. Robyn Wight asked for any news on State government plans for Fort Largs and Patricia Michell on Cummins House. Darren Peacock explained that there was no decision as yet on 2.4 what to do with these two properties. Terry Watson of Strathalbyn branch, asked about insurance for the Strathalbyn Heritage Centre, which was recently transferred to the Trust by the State Government. Darren Peacock advised that the branch will pay a higher insurance premium to cover the building, as all branches pay insurance on the properties they manage.

Andrew Winkler asked about any future plans by SA Heritage for Torrens Island and the Quarantine Station. The CEO advised on this and suggested that he contact SA Heritage.

3. PRESENTATION OF NTSA AWARDS 2019 Service Awards, Achievement Awards and the President's Award were presented to each recipient by the President. Citations were read by Mr Brian McMillan, Chair of the Collections, Regions and Branches Committee. Service Awards Anne Boulter of Victor Harbor branch Mike Austin of Moonta branch Craig Roberts from Brinkworth Reserve Trent Porter from Watiparinga Reserve Jean Walker from Burnside branch Joan Murphy from Burnside branch **Achievement Awards** Chris Perriam from Burnside branch Kaye Bottrall from Jamestown branch Val Brooks from Jamestown branch Jill Davidson and Valerie Monaghan of Robe branch Madie Bruce from Robe branch Ian Bruce from Robe branch Merilyn Kuchel of Beaumont House Garden Port of Adelaide branch (accepted by Pat Netschitowsky and Andrew Winkler) Hahndorf branch (accepted by Annette Humphries) President's Award Brian McMillan (NTSA Councillor and Chair of Willunga branch)

4. OTHER BUSINESS

4.1	Retirements from Council Deborah Morgan advised of the retirements from Council: Heidi Thompson, Walter Dollman and Brian McMillan. She thanked the retiring Councillors for their contributions to NTSA.
4.2	Any Other Business No other business. The AGM concluded at 11.30am.

LUNCH

12.30pm	Introduction by Dr Darren Peacock, Presentation by ECO Action KI (Carole Pinnock, a member of Friends of Parks, Kangaroo Island Western Districts and KI Eco Action).
12.45pm	Presentation by Professor Warren Jones AO, Convenor, Protect our Heritage Alliance, and discussion on Heritage Advocacy regarding proposed changes to the planning laws. Questions and Answers: What you can do
1.30pm	Close of AGM