

The 56<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) was held on: 11 November 2015

At Wanslea, 80 Railway St, COTTESLOE 6011

#### **MINUTES**

### 1. General Welcome

The Master of Ceremonies, Enzo Sirna, AM A/Chief Executive Officer welcomed members to the 56th Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the Traditional custodians of this land, of elders past and present and also respectfully acknowledged the contributions of Aboriginal Australians and non-Aboriginal Australians in this country in which we live and share.

On behalf of the National Trust of Australia (WA) he also acknowledged the special guests present at the AGM, .as well as Members, Volunteers, Staff and Friends.

# 2. Opening of AGM Meeting

The Members of the National Trust of Australia (WA) were advised that the necessary quorum was present to permit the meeting to proceed and as such the President of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Max Kay AM CitWA, formally opened the 56th Annual General Meeting at 5.35pm.

### 3. Present

71 Members were noted as being present.

## 4. Apologies

The Secretary, Ms Helen Cogan was called upon to inform the meeting of 37 apologies which were received and duly noted.

Marie Slyth	Tony Sands	Colin Caughey
Maggie Myers	Gena Culley	Ken See
Helen Birch	Clare Nunan	Gae See
Jenny Gregory	Ruth Phelps	Sue Rule
Roger Jennings	Adrian Phelps	Alan Dayman
Lilian Jennings	Theo Bredmeyer	Heather Dayman
Dawn Pocock	Andrew Holmes	Michael Wheatley
Harold Pocock	The Honourable Colin Barnett	Hon John Cowdell
Sidney Wilcox	David Templeman	Keith Roberton
Lynley Wilcox	Margaret Quirk	Mark Anderson
Ian Boersma	Veronica Sherwood	Prof John Stephens
Tony Ruse	Lyn McLaren	Ayleen Sands
Max Hipkins		

It was noted that the following members sent through late apologies:

Dr Robyn Taylor Christine Lewis



## 5. Notice of Meeting

The President informed the AGM that the Notice of Meeting was provided to all members in a timely manner according to the Trust's protocols, and also appeared in the early summer edition of the National Trust of Australia (WA) News and on the National Trust website.

## 6. Minutes of Previous AGM

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 12 November 2014 was provided to Members.

#### Resolved

That the Minutes of the 2014 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held on Wednesday 12 November 2014 at 57 Murray Street, Perth be certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Dr Ken Collins AM CitWA

Seconded: Nick Drew

**CARRIED** 

# 7. Presentation of Reports

# a) Presentation of Annual Report

The President of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Max Kay AM CitWA, presented the President's Report for 2014/15 and the Annual Report for adoption.

#### Resolved

The President's Report by received and the Annual Report 2014/15 be adopted.

**Moved:** Alan Briggs

**Seconded:** Gordon Barnet

**CARRIED** 

### b) Presentation of the Financial Statements

Mr Grant Godfrey, spoke about the Financial Statements for 2014/15 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He also provided an overview of the National Trust's financial position.

### Resolved

That the National Trust of Australia (WA) Financial Statements for the year ended 30 June 2015 be received and adopted.

Moved: Grant Godfrey

Seconded: Robert Mitchell

**CARRIED** 



### 8. Announcement of Elected Councillors 2014

In accordance with Trust Rules amendment no.8 nominations were called from the membership to fill five vacant positions. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian on Friday 24 July 2015 and Friday 7 August 2015 advising that nominations would open on Friday 7 August, 2015. Four nominations were received by the closing date on Friday 21 August 2015.

The following four nominees have been elected for a three year term expiring November 2018.

- 1. John Cowdell
- 2. Robert Mitchell
- 3. Irene Stainton
- 4. Robyn Taylor

In addition the Council of the National Trust of Australia (WA) at its meeting of 9 November 2015 moved to appoint Mr John Palermo to the vacant 5th position for the 3 year term.

Congratulations were extended to these Councillors who commenced their appointment at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting and a vote of appreciation to all Councillors for their service to the National Trust was expressed.

## 9. Notice of Motions

Motion put forward by Alaric Hayes

That the National Trust of Australia (WA), grant approval for the marking of presently unmarked graves in the East Perth Cemeteries by descendants and others by way of standardised bronze plaques on plinths (concrete), the wording of which to be suitable to the National Trust and in keeping with the historical precinct – the funding for which to be provided by the descendants of the pioneers and/or – other persons – all of which to be subject to the approval of the National Trust of Australia (WA).

Moved: Alaric Hayes

Max Kay opposed the motion mentioning an article in an Eastern States newspaper.

Robert Mitchell advised that this issue could not be addressed at this time as it violated the constitution but that it should be discussed at an appropriate time.

Max Evans suggested that the new Chairman and CEO should become acquainted personally with Lotterywest and other government bodies to raise monies.

### 10. General Business

No general business was introduced.

### 11. Closure of AGM Meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 6.15pm.



### 12. Launch of the Western Mail 1915 War Souvenir.

Mr John Dowson presented the Western Mail War Souvenir.

### 13. Awards Presentation

The Master of Ceremonies, Mr Enzo Sirna AM, A/Chief Executive Officer, invited the President of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Max Kay AM CitWA to present the Volunteer Awards.

National Trust Volunteer Recognition Awards are presented annually to volunteers for outstanding service to our organisation. Volunteers are vital to the National Trust. They provide knowledge, expertise and knowhow in the operation our organisation and work tirelessly for the cause of sharing heritage with our communities and all Western Australians for the benefit of generations.

The following awards were presented:

# McLarty Awards - In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Australia (WA) for over 5 years.

Linda Brown-Davies Woodbridge

Max Kay AM CitWA Council & Executive Committee

# Forrest Awards - In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Australia (WA) for over 10 years.

Alice Adamson Counci

Gregory Boyle Council & Executive Committee
Helen Cogan Council & Executive Committee

# Stirling Award - In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Australia (WA) for over 15 years.

Prof John Stephens Council

Special awards were presented by the A/Chief Executive Officer of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Enzo Sirna AM.

### Special Awards - Certificates of Appreciation

In recognition of your support and contribution to the National Trust of Australia (WA)

Ann Sippe Woodbridge

John Viska Nominated by Kelly Rippingale

A special award was presented by Mr Michael Murray AM QC to Mr Tom Perrigo

### Fellow of the National Trust of Australia (WA)

Tom Perrigo In recognition of the outstanding contribution and

distinguished service to the National Trust over 25 years.

### 14. Conclusion

The Master of Ceremonies, Enzo Sirna, AM A/Chief Executive Officer invited Members for light refreshments.