

2008

MINUTES OF 49th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the 49th Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held at Mary Lockett Hall, Christ Church, Perth on Wednesday 5 November 2008 at 5.00 pm.

1. Welcome

The Master of Ceremonies Mr Enzo Sirna AM, Deputy Chief Executive Officer welcomed members to the 49th Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the spirits and memory of the Traditional Custodians of the Land.

2. Present

Fifty members were noted as being present.

3. Apologies

The Secretariat informed the meeting of seventeen apologies which were received and noted.

4. Notice of Meeting

The Notice of Meeting was provided to all members in the August edition of WA News and Events that was mailed to all members.

5. Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 11 November 2007 has been provided to members.

Resolved

The minutes of the 2007 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held on Wednesday 11 November 2007 at Burt Memorial Hall, St George Terrace, Perth be certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved:Prof Ross DowlingSeconded:Mrs Phillida Preston

CARRIED

6. Presentation of Annual Report

The Hon John Cowdell, President, tabled the *President's Report for 2007-08*. **Resolved**

The Annual Report 2007-08 be adopted.Moved:Hon John CowdellSeconded:Mrs Peggy Clarke

CARRIED

7. Presentation of the Financial Statements

The Treasurer spoke about the Financial Statements for 2007/08 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He also provided an overview of National Trust's financial position.

Resolved

The National Trust of Australia (WA) Financial Statements for the year ended 2007/08, be received and adopted.

Moved: Mr John Palermo Seconded: Dr Robyn Taylor

CARRIED

8. Announcement of elected Councillors 2008

In accordance with Trust Rules Amendment No. 7 nominations were called from the membership to fill five vacant positions by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian Newspaper on 3 July 2008 advising that nominations opened on 24 July 2008. Five nominations were received by the closing date on 7 August 2008. As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies, Grant Godfrey, Helen Cogan, Roger Jennings, Barrie Melotte and Gregory Robert Boyle have been elected for a three year term ending 2011.

9. Retiring Councillors

A vote of thanks be given to Cr Layman.

Resolved

Moved: Hon John Cowdell Seconded: Mr Grant Godfrey

10. Notices of motion

No Notices of Motion have been received.

11. Close of meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 5.27pm.

CARRIED