St Cuthbert’s Church is a beautiful neo-gothic church building, which continues to serve as the spiritual home for the Anglican Parish of Darlington-Bellevue.
Alongside Sunday services, St Cuthbert’s has played host to many weddings, funerals and baptisms. More recently, it has hosted interfaith gatherings to build a stronger, more cohesive community.
In early 1924, Lot 24 of the Hillsden Estate was donated for a church by Mrs JF Stone and her daughters. The foundation stone for St Cuthbert’s was laid on Sunday 13 September 1924 by Archbishop Charles Riley and a glass jar with a description of the event was placed in the foundation stone’s cavity. The building, which cost about 900 pounds, was designed by George Herbert Parry and built by E Bishop. It was consecrated on 1 March 1925.
Heritage significance and previous restoration
St Cuthbert’s Church in Darlington is one of the key landmark buildings defining the village precinct. The shady wooded site – with low stone boundary walls, lych gate and the stone church itself – makes a significant contribution to the village ambience that characteristically identifies Darlington and engenders the affection locals have for the place.
Restoration works were carried out in 2019 but there is still more work to be done.
Your tax-deductible donation will help preserve this iconic building for future generations as a house of prayer for all people.
All donations of $2 or more are tax deductible.