The charming All Saints Anglican Church at Henley Brook contains elements of one of the oldest church buildings in Western Australia.
The area was previously a traditional Noongar campsite and the Stirling expedition of 1827 camped there on 13 March 1827 with Stirling recording his delight with the area, naming the nearby creek ‘Ellen’s Brook’ after his wife.
Church services had been held in the area since about 1831 but the foundation stone for All Saints church was not laid until 31 October 1839. St Mary’s Anglican Church was constructed at Middle Swan on the other side of the river but, without bridge access, it was too difficult for parishioners to attend so the church at Henley Brook was planned.
The first services were held in the Church by the Reverend William Mitchell who had guided the construction of All Saints Church and St Mary’s. All Saints was built largely by the local residents using donated materials with handmade bricks of local clay and pit sawn timber.
The picturesque graveyard contains the graves of many of the Swan Valley’s well-known European settlers.
Works were undertaken in 1938 and again in 1962. Extensive restoration works occurred in 1988 with funding assistance from the Australian Government’s Bicentennial Project.
All Saints continues as a place of worship for the local community and as a place of interest for tourists.
All donations of $2 or more are tax deductible.