2020 Margaret Feilman Medal

Nominate a worthy recipient for the prestigious Margaret Feilman Medal.

Named after Margaret Feilman OBE, a founding member of the National Trust of Western Australia, the Margaret Feilman Medal recognises individuals or organisations who demonstrate meritorious achievement or service to heritage in Western Australia.

The medal’s namesake, Margaret Anne Feilman OBE, was Perth’s first qualified town planner and Australia’s first female town planner.

She was a dedicated advocate for identifying and protecting Western Australia’s cultural and natural heritage through conservation and education.

Previous recipients of the Margret Feilman Medal

The following individuals were acknowledged for their tireless contribution to heritage in Western Australia and were awarded the Margaret Feilman Medal.


Col RB Mitchell CFD UE


Mr M Hardey


Mr Greg Divine
Mr Bob Hart
Ms Diana Russell – Coote
Mr Wayne Zekulich


Mr John Garland


Mr Michal Lewi




Prof David Dolan AM
Ms Vyonne Geneve OAM MA
Dr John Taylor
Dr Ingrid Van Bremen

If you are a National Trust of Western Australia member and know of an individual or organisation deserving of their contribution to heritage, you can nominate them for the Award.

Nominee selection criteria

The recipient shall be of good standing in the community; and
1. shall have made an outstanding contribution over an extended period of time to the National Trust of Western Australia; or
2. shall have made an outstanding contribution over an extended period of time to advance the cause of heritage in Western Australia; or
3. shall have provided outstanding leadership over an extended period of time in conservation practice aligned to the principles of the Burra Charter.

Nomination selection process

1. The call for nominations from the membership of the National Trust of Western Australia commences Tuesday, 1 September 2020.
2. Nominations will be accepted online or via submission of the nominations form, from Tuesday, 1 September 2020.
3. Nominations are to be received by close of business Wednesday, 30 September 2020.
4. All nominations will be reviewed against the selection criteria. The selection panel comprises the National Trust of Western Australia Council President, National Trust of Western Australia Chair, CEO and Senior Management Team.
5. The National Trust of Western Australia CEO will submit a recommendation(s) for the Margaret Feilman Medal to Council for endorsement1.
6. Recipients2 will be announced at the National Trust of Western Australia Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, 11 November 2020.

1 Council reserves the right to make no award should no nominations be received or it deems that none of the nominations meets the criteria to its satisfaction.
2 There is no set number of recipients who may receive the award in a year.

Call to action section

Start your nomination here

Download the nomination form via the link or complete your nomination online below.

Nomination forms are to be submitted by Wednesday, 30 September 2020.

Download the nomination form

Submit your nomination online

Please note, you cannot save your submission midway through.

Should you have any questions or need additional information, contact us via email trust@ntwa.com.au or via phone (08) 9321 6088.