The community of Queensland is invited each year to participate in the National Trust Queensland Heritage Awards.

Have you been conducting conservation work on a heritage place, writing conservation plans, publishing in print or digital form, or been a member of a volunteer group?

Please nominate to the National Trust Queensland Heritage Awards. Projects completed since mid-2015 are eligible for nomination.

The National Trust Queensland Heritage Awards are presented for the outstanding activities conserving and promoting our cultural heritage, including historic and Indigenous heritage. Awards are given in each category, ranging from High Commendation to Silver and Gold, with the John Herbert Memorial Award presented to the most outstanding nomination.

The National Trust presents awards to projects and people that demonstrate excellence in the conservation and promotion of Queensland’s historic and Indigenous cultural heritage. 

The Heritage Awards have grown substantially over recent years as a wonderful showcase of the community’s dedication to the conservation of Queensland’s heritage. To reflect this growth the Awards will now be presented at a gala dinner to be held in May 2017.

Find out more about the dinner.


Nominations for the National Trust Queensland Heritage Awards have now closed.  

If you have nominated and not received an email or verbal confirmation that your nomination has been received please call 07 3223 6666, or 0421 709 396.

Before nominating your project please read – Guidelines for the preparation of nominations.

Award CategoryPresented to:Nomination Form
Conservation WorksProjects that demonstrate excellence in undertaking conservation works to a place in Queensland entered in a heritage register or otherwise recognised for its cultural heritage significance.Nominations have now closed.
Conservation PlanningPlanning projects that demonstrate excellence in guiding the conservation of Queensland's heritage placesNominations have now closed.
Interpretation and PromotionProjects that demonstrate excellence in the interpretation and promotion of Queensland's history and cultural heritage.Nominations have now closed.
Agency Conservation ProgramsGovernment agencies and government organisations at any level, including federal, state and local, for programs and projects that demonstrate excellence in planning, conservation, interpretation and promotion of heritage.Nominations have now closed.
Achievement AwardsA person who has demonstrated a lifetime of valuable contribution to heritage conservation; or a young person who has demonstrated excellence in the development of heritage conservation skills, the potential to be a heritage leader and have inspired others in heritage work; or a volunteer or a group of volunteers who has demonstrated a commitment above and beyond and inspired others.Nominations have now closed.


All projects nominated will receive a confirmation email.


At the National Trust of Queensland AGM in September 1974, it was moved that a John Herbert Award be awarded annually for ‘a meritorious restoration or presentation project.’

The first John Herbert Award was presented in September 1975 to the Goondiwindi Town Council for the restoration of the Goondiwindi Customs House.

In response to the growth of the event, in 2004 the awards were renamed the Queensland Heritage Awards. The John Herbert Memorial Award is presented to the most outstanding nomination each year.

The John Herbert Memorial Award honours John Herbert MLA who was a strong supporter of the newly formed National Trust of Queensland. He was member of the Trust’s first Council and served as its president from 1971 to 1974.

National Trust Queensland Heritage Awards

National Trust House

95 William Street, Brisbane QLD 4000

(07) 3223 6666


Sitewide contact form
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

The Awards are proudly supported by Treasury Casino and Hotel and the Queensland Heritage Council.