Entries have now closed and shortlisted projects will be announced soon.

The National Trust Heritage Awards are the signature event of the Australian Heritage Festival and are now in their 25th year of recognising heritage projects.

The awards are highly regarded in the industry and are an opportunity to have work recognised by peers and the public. The 2019 awards will be presented on 10 May 2019 during a luncheon ceremony at Doltone House, Pyrmont. Our keynote speaker for 2019 will be Philip Thalis. Philip has more than 25 years local and international experience across a broad spectrum of architecture and urban projects and has won more than 40 awards, commendations and competitions for architecture, urban design, planning, public domain and heritage projects.

Every year entrants for the awards include councils, community groups, corporations and individuals. The entries include everything from education and research to the restoration of objects, re-vitalisation, architectural re-invigoration, documentaries, regeneration of the environment and hard-working advocacy campaigners.


The ‘Judges Choice’ award, including a National Trust plaque, will be presented to the most outstanding project of the year at the culmination of the awards ceremony.

Call to action section

2019 National Trust Heritage Awards winners

See the full list of winners and Highly Commended.

The winners

Related content section

2019 Categories

A full category list with descriptions.



The Australian Heritage Festival is supported through funding from the Australian Government’s National Trusts Partnership Program and the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage.