Salon des Refusés 2019

The alternative Archibald and Wynne Prize selection at S.H. Ervin Gallery.

The Salon des Refusés was initiated by the S.H. Ervin Gallery in 1992 in response to the large number of works entered into the Archibald Prize which were not selected for display in the official exhibition. The Archibald Prize is one of Australia’s most high profile and respected awards which attracts hundreds of entries each year and the S.H. Ervin Gallery’s ‘alternative’ selection has become a much anticipated feature of the Sydney scene.

Each year our panel is invited to go behind the scenes of the judging process for the annual Archibald Prize for portraiture and Wynne Prize for landscape painting and figure sculpture at the Art Gallery of New South Wales, to select an exhibition from the many hundreds of works entered in both prizes but not chosen for the official award exhibition. Of the 978 entries to the Archibald Prize the AGNSW Trustees selected 52 works, and from 734 entries to the Wynne Prize the Trustees selected  works.

From the remaining submission our selectors have chosen 30 works from the Archibald Prize entries and 23 works from the Wynne Prize entries for this alternative exhibition.  The 2019 selectors were Brian Langer, director, Cowra Regional Art Gallery and Jane Wattersdirector, S.H. Ervin Gallery

The Salon des Refusés exhibition at the S.H. Ervin Gallery has established an excellent reputation that rivals the selections in the ‘official’ exhibition, with works selected for quality, diversity, humour and experimentation, and which examine contemporary art practices, different approaches to portraiture and responses to the landscape.

Visitors can vote in the Holding Redlich People’s Choice Award.

Principal Sponsor



TOBY ANSELL – Justice Anthony North with Hat  (retired Judge)

L. BÂGU BATSON – Elliot Goblet (Jack Levi, comedian)

KATE BEYNON – Hybrid self with kindred spirits

WANDA BRABENEC – K1P1  (self-portrait, artist and teacher)

EMILY CROCKFORD – Funky Jungle Rosie in her Pom Pom Zoo (Rosie Deacon, artist)

MARK DOBER – Liz reading (Haefliger’s Cottage)  (Elizabeth Nelson, artist)

YVONNE EAST – Dr Mehreen Faruqi and Cosmo  (Greens Senator for NSW)

JOHN EDWARDS – Self portrait with Elsie  

McLEAN EDWARDS – Mr Parker meets the Painter (Portrait of Derek Parker)

MARINA FINLAY – Tim Schultz with de Chirico’s ‘The Divine Horses of Achilles’  (Tim Schultz, artist)

MERTIM GOKLAP –  Wendy’s Wonderland  (Wendy Sharpe, artist)

HELENE GROVE – The sum of us (Self portrait)

JANE GUTHLEBEN – The dog walker (Self portrait as an ornament)                                                  

CRAIG HANDLEY – Some Assembly Required

SOPHIA HEWSON – Sex worker activist Tilly Lawless seen through bars                                                   

ANDREW LLOYD GREENSMITH – Two Lives One Soul- Annetta Able and Stephanie Heller identical twin survivors of Auschwitz and the last witnesses to a fragmenting memory   (Annetta Able and Stephanie Heller)

ALISON MACKAY – Under Her Eye (Charlotte Wood after Otto Dix) (Charlotte Wood, writer)

ROBERT MALHERBE – Steven Alderton  (director of the National Art School NSW)

MARIE MANSFIELD – Kate Smith, artist patron  (Kate Smith)

KERRY McINNIS – Drawn in steel (Harrie Fasher)  (sculptor)

JOANNE MORRIS – Lister  (Anthony Lister, artist)

NATIKA NEWING-STERN – High Priestess of Silly Scribbles and Patron Saint of Wobbly Wibbles sending inter-dimensional blessings of Creative Reverie and Utopian  Dreams (Self Portrait with Love) 

RODNEY POPLE – Anya and Ken (Ken Unsworth, artist)

CAMERON POTTS – The Moment (Kevin Parker, Songwriter, Musician, Tame Impala)

NIGEL SENSE – Self Portrait                                                                               

WENDY SHARPE – Megan Wilding as Blackie Blackie Brown, Traditional  Owner of Death

LILLI STROMLAND – Derek (Derek Parker)

ANDREW SULLIVAN – Roger Covell and the Song of the Magpie  (Roger Covell,  musicologist, critic and author)

MADELEINE WINCHHomage to Edmund Capon (Self Portrait)

CAROLINE ZILINSKY – Sir Fragrance (Jai Evans, fragrancer/lifestyle publicist)



TONY COSTA – Hacking River Audley R N P

ELISABETH CUMMINGS – Yellow interior     

NEIL EVANS Mallee   

RENEE FRENCHHills Hoist On Flood Gums

PETER GARDINEREt in arcadia ego (Inherited landscape)


MARK HOWSON – View to the east from a Mountain Pass

TIM JOHNSON – Thredbo River


SALLY JOUBERT – The Caravan Crawl

NICOLE KELLYThe last of the day runs red

ROSS LAURIEDry Red Rams Gully          

MARIE MANSFIELDLunch hour in the city

NAPUWARRI MARAWILITsunami site at Yathikpa

NOEL MCKENNA – Brisbane Backyard



PETER SHARP – White Mallee                                                                                                                       

PETER STEVENSRiver                                                                                                                                     

MATTHEW TUMBERS – Until under the evening                                                                                                 

STUART WATTERSHinterland                                                                                                            

DAIWEI XU – On the way home                                                                                                                               

Featured image: CAMERON POTTS  The Moment (Kevin Parker, songwriter & musician, Tame Impala)

Image: NICOLE KELLY  The last of the day runs pink)

Location Details


National Trust S.H. Ervin Gallery, Watson Road, Millers Point (The Rocks)


Tuesday - Sunday, 11am - 5pm


Mondays & Public Holidays
Closed - Monday 24 December to Tuesday 1 January (inclusive)
Easter - closed Good Friday only

(02) 9258 0173
[email protected]
Entry Fees:

$12.00 - General
$10.00 – Seniors and Concessions
$4.00 – National Trust Members
(children under 12 free)

*Selected exhibitions may incur special prices

What we offer: