2021 Australian Marmalade Awards

We are delighted to be running the Australian Marmalade Awards in 2021, marking the 6th anniversary of this wonderful community event.

​The competition officially opens on Monday 9th August. 

Australia’s Marmalade Awards began in 2016 as a partnership between the National Trust of South Australia and the World’s Original Marmalade Awards staged at Dalemain Estate in England.

These quirky awards were founded in 2005 by Jane Hasell-McCosh of Dalemain with the initial idea of preserving, growing and widening one of the most British of customs – making marmalade. They have gone on to generate a following far beyond Jane’s wildest expectations and have humour and a life of their own, inspiring people from all over the world to get involved.  The World Awards are centred on Dalemain Mansion; a Georgian stately home lived in by the same family for over 300 years, which also happens to hold a very rich archive of Marmalade recipes.

Like the World’s Original competition, there are two categories in the Australian competition- the homemade marmalade awards and the artisan competition for small commercial producers.

The homemade competition recognises the art and skill of domestic marmalade makers, with a range of categories to encourage both traditional methods and recipes and more innovative takes on the art of the marmalade.

The artisan competition promotes small scale commercial marmalade producers using the open-pan method. Judged by an esteemed panel, these prestigious Awards put marmalade makers on the map, and winners can display their ‘Gold’ ‘Silver’ or ‘Bronze’ Award roundel on their jars, a huge marketing gift that declares their marmalade one of the best quality preserves in the world.


Competition overview


Entries open: 9 August 2021

Entries close: Friday 1 October 2021

Judging: October

Award presentations: Friday 12 November 2021

For everything Marmalade head to www.marmalade.net.au/