Open House & Museum
Visitors can start at the open house & garden, or the museum at 29 Station Street. The museum offers an insight into Australian history with Aboriginal artifacts, European landing, the gold rush, Victorian women’s fashion, dolls, wool & shearing, timber cutting and convict memorabilia, plus the Chinese influence on the gold rush are all featured in the museum. Most of the paintings are of areas within a 45 min drive of Maryborough & painted by owner Keith Trudgeon. The open house was once owned by the Outtrim’s – Alfred Richard Outtrim (1845-1925). He was a long serving Victorian politician who gained a reputation as a competent government minister, a promoter of women’s suffrage & regional development. He was also responsible for the building of the Maryborough Railway Station. At one time his office was located in one of the rooms that visitors will view at 2 Peel street. There will be photos & information of the Outtrim’s & renovations completed in the past 15 yrs.