Low Head Foghorn Soundings
The Low Head Foghorn, at the mouth of the Tamar River, is a unique piece of Tasmania's maritime history.
The Foghorn was installed in 1929 and decommissioned in 1973. It was restored in early 2000 by a group of volunteers and is sounded each Sunday at noon.
It is the only operational G-type diaphone in the world. The building also houses a very rare Gardner kerosene engine.
Enjoy the beautiful sea views from the headland and feel free to have a chat with the volunteers in attendance every Sunday at noon.