Discover Mulgoa by Bus – Two Hidden Houses
Walk the grounds of historic Fairlight, a substantial Victorian house and impressive barn surrounded by old fig trees, and The Cottage, home to Edward Cox before he built Fernhill, creating a landscape between The Cottage, Fernhill and St. Thomas Church virtually unaltered since the 1850s.
We meet at Mulgoa Park, which has on- and off-street parking and public toilets. Travel is by 24-seat bus departing to each historic property before returning to Mulgoa Park for a comfort stop then proceeding to the second property. Morning and afternoon sessions. Light refreshment will be provided at The Cottage. Fairlight (c. 1870) stands on land granted by Governor Macquarie to the Norton family in 1821. The buildings are surrounded by angophora and native fig trees that may have been planted when the house was built by Jarrett (1860s). The Cottage (c. 1810) was built by William Cox for his sons, one of which, Edward, began developing Fernhill as a gentleman’s estate, planning a mansion and creating a landscape park. Make the most of your day out and separately book the Fernhill Walking Trail to visit Fernhill and/or independently walk the grounds of St. Thomas Church (may be open from 9 am to 3 pm).