Adelong Old Gold Mill Ruins
EXPLORE THE OLD GOLD MILL RUINS
The Museum will conduct walking tours around the ruins of the Reefer Battery at the Adelong Falls. The site for the crushing of the mined ore. Afterwards, view the sculpture trail along the creek to Adelong village.
RELICS OF THE GOLDFIELDS from the Collection of Peter Smith, a long time fossicker of the Adelong Creek who has found some extraordinary items from the days of the Gold Rush in 1850s is the Adelong Alive Museum’s current Exhibition. By 1876 Adelong was the third most productive gold field in the country.
The Museum is housed in the former building of the Country Women’s Association in the the main street, and has been the repository of Adelong’s social, familial, pastoral, and gold mining records and exhibitions relating to its past and present history are regularly mounted.
Walk down the tree-lined main street of this heritage listed village and see the Museum, Adelonia Theatre, The Royal Hotel, Country Crafts, Hotel Adelong, Beaufort House, Old Pharmacy, the Literary Institute (now Adelong S & C Club) and other historic buildings. Along the side streets are Adelong’s old churches, schools and the Showgrounds.