2020 MARGARET FEILMAN MEDAL

Recognising individuals or organisations who demonstrate meritorious achievement or service to heritage in Western Australia

Diana Frylinck

Diana Frylinck has worked for the National Trust of Western Australia for over 20 years. During that time, she has made a major contribution to the understanding of the heritage and educational aspects of the Goldfields Water Supply Scheme (commonly known as the Golden Pipeline).

Diana has been intrigued with CY O'Connor and the pipeline since 1996 when, as an employee of the Water Authority of Western Australia (now known as Water Corporation), she started work at No 1 Pump Station, Mundaring Weir. Her knowledge of the Pump Station, and of the Scheme, considerably benefitted the redevelopment of No. 1 Pump Station when it was taken over by the National Trust in 1999.

To coincide with the reopening of No. 1 Pump Station by the Trust in 2004, she co-authored the children's book, The Pipeline C Y O'Connor Built, with Joy Lefroy. Since then, she has worked tirelessly to ensure that the ongoing success of O'Connor's far-sighted scheme has been brought to life not only to thousands of visitors but to a generation of school children. As well as volunteering regularly herself, she ensures the Pump Station is open to visitors even when there is a shortage of other volunteers.

Volunteers know that everything will be in place especially when taking groups around the Pump Station. She has also volunteered many of her own hours into the programmes run by the Trust, for instance, Easter at Peninsula Farm, Family Fun at the Farm at Strawberry Hill, and Christmas Carols at Peninsula Farm.

In recent years, she has used her skills as an educator to enable school groups to appreciate the heritage importance of the Trust's other metropolitan properties, writing and implementing many programs to engage new generations in the history of Western Australia.

Diana has also made a major contribution to the Mundaring and Hills Historical Society (MHHS) where she has been a member for many years. She joined the Committee in 2005, was President from 2008 to 2009, and has been Secretary. She has been described as "wholeheartedly pursing the values of local history to the benefit of the local community with honesty and integrity". The MHHS was heavily involved in the creation of "Trek-the-Trail" with Diana being the driving force behind this.

