

MINUTES OF 52nd ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the 52nd Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held at Main Hall, Constitutional Centre, Havelock Street, West Perth on Wednesday 2 November 2011 at 5.30pm.

1. Welcome

The Master of Ceremonies, Enzo Sirna, AM Deputy Chief Executive Officer welcomed members to the 52nd Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the Traditional custodians of this land, of elders past and present and also respectfully acknowledged the contributions of Aboriginal Australians and non Aboriginal Australians in this county in which we live and share.

On behalf of the National Trust of Australia (WA) he also acknowledged the special guests present at the AGM, as well as Members, Volunteers and Friends.

2. Opening of Annual General Meeting

The Members of the National Trust of Australia (WA) were advised that the necessary quorum was present to permit the meeting to proceed and as such the President of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Max Kay AM.CitWA formally opened the 52nd Annual General Meeting at 5.35pm.

3. Present

One hundred and six members were noted as being present.

4. Apologies

The Secretary, Ms Helen Cogan was called upon to inform the meeting of fifty four apologies which were received and duly noted. This included the Chairman Hon John Cowdell AM.

5. Notice of Meeting

The President informed the AGM that the Notice of Meeting was provided to all members via a mail out in late September early October, and also appeared in the early summer edition of the National Trust of Australia (WA) News.

6. Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 3 November 2010 has been provided to Members.

Resolved

That the Minutes of the 2010 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held on Wednesday 3 November 2010 at St. Peter's Anglican Church, Victoria Park be certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Helen Cogan

Seconded: Prof. Jenny Gregory

CARRIED

7. Presentation of Annual Report

The President of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Max Kay AM.CitWA, presented the *President's Report for 2010/11*.

Resolved

The Annual Report 2010-11 be adopted.

Moved: Max Kay AM.CitWa Seconded: Michal Lewi AM

CARRIED

8. Presentation of CEO's Report

The Chief Executive Officer of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Thomas E Perrigo, presented the CEO's Report for 2010/11.

Resolved

The Chief Executive Officer's Report be received

Moved: Michal Lewi AM Seconded: Peggy Clarke

CARRIED

9. Presentation of the Financial Statements

The Treasurer spoke about the Financial Statements for 2010/11 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He also provided an overview of the National Trust's financial position.

Resolved

The National Trust of Australia (WA) Financial Statements for the year ended 2010/11, be received and adopted.

Moved: John Palermo Seconded: Grant Godfrey

CARRIED

10. Announcement of Elected Councillors 2011

In accordance with Trust Rules Amendment No. 7, nominations were called from the membership to fill eight vacant positions by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The call for nominations was mailed to each member on the 27 May 2011 and advertised in the West Australian Newspaper on the 1 June 2011 advising that nominations opened on 21 July 2011. Five nominations were received by the closing date on 4 August 2011. As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies, Gregory Boyle, Fiona Bush, Helen Cogan, Ken Collins and Roger Jennings were elected.

11. Retiring Councillors

Michal Lewi AM, Graham Horne and Barrie Melotte retired from the Council in 2010/2011.

A vote of thanks be given to the above mentioned retiring Councillors.

Resolved

Moved: Max Kay AM.CitWA Seconded: Alice Adamson

CARRIED

12. Notices of motion

No Notices of Motion were received.

13. Any Additional Matters

Volunteer Awards were presented by the President of the National Trust of Australia (WA), Mr Max Kay AM.CitWA.

National Trust Volunteer Recognition Awards are presented annually to volunteers for outstanding service to our organisation. Volunteers are vital to the National Trust. They provide knowledge, expertise and knowhow in the operation our organisation and work tirelessly for the cause of sharing heritage with our communities and all Western Australians for the benefit of generations.

The following awards were presented:

Appreciation Award

Presented to individuals or groups that have provided a special service, and to volunteers for outstanding endeavour in heritage and conservation

Alethea du Boulay

Arthur Coopes

Bethlyn Jarvis

Bill Cutler

Denys Freer

Don Young

Elizabeth Atkins

Frank Mansfield

Gerard van Didden

Graham Horne

Joan Crawford

Joanne Kingdom

Karen Barsch

Keith Jarvis

Ken Kelsall

Norma Lambert

Pamela Dell

Rob Rippingale

Roger Jennings

Terry Crawford

Tony Foot

McLarty Award

Presented to volunteers for dedicated service of over 5 years

Barrie Melotte

Gregory Boyle

Helen Cogan

Peter Scales

Roger Jennings

Ross Dowling

Forrest Award

Presented to volunteers for dedicated service of over 10 years

Inger Russell

Jean Clarke

Vince Taylor

Stirling Award

Presented to volunteers for dedicated service of over 15 years service

Jenny Gregory

Jennifer Ovens

Lindsey Peet

Maureen Perham

The Water Corporation, in recognition of its support of the National Trust of Australia (WA), was awarded a McLarty Award.

Margaret Feilman Medal

This is the highest award bestowed by the National Trust. For eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree in service to the National Trust of Australia (WA).

Mr Michal Lewi AM

Note: Not all awardees were present on the night

14. Close of meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 6.15pm.