2010

MINUTES OF 51st ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the 51st Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held at St Peter's Anglican Church Hall, Victoria Park on Wednesday 3 November 2010 at 5.00pm.

1. Welcome

The Master of Ceremonies welcomed members to the 51st Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the spirits and memory of the Traditional Custodians of the Land.

2. Present

Forty three members were noted as being present.

3. Apologies

The Secretariat informed the meeting of nine apologies which were received and duly noted.

4. Notice of Meeting

The Notice of Meeting was provided to all members in the August and November 2010 editions of WA News and Events which was mailed to all members, and also in the September and October 2010 e-News, emailed to participating members.

5. Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 4 November 2009 has been provided to members.

Resolved

The minutes of the 2009 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held on Wednesday 4 November 2009 at the Hellenic Hall, Church of St Constantine and Helene. Northbridge, be certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Prof Ross Dowling Seconded: Mrs Peggy Clarke

CARRIED

6. Presentation of Annual Report

The Hon John Cowdell AM, President, tabled the President's Report for 2009-10.

Resolved

The Annual Report 2009-10 be adopted.

Moved: Prof. David Dolan

Seconded: Prof. Jenny Gregory AM

CARRIED

7. Presentation of the Financial Statements

The Treasurer spoke about the Financial Statements for 2009/10 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He also provided an overview of the National Trust's financial position.

Resolved

The National Trust of Australia (WA) Financial Statements for the year ended 2009/10, be received and adopted.

Moved: Mr John Palermo Seconded: Mr Alan Briggs

CARRIED

8. Announcement of Elected Councillors 2010

In accordance with Trust Rules Amendment No. 7, nominations were called from the membership to fill four vacant positions by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian Newspaper on 1 July 2010 advising that nominations opened on 22 July 2010. Four nominations were received by the closing date on 5 August 2010. As the number of nominations did not exceed the

advising that nominations opened on 22 July 2010. Four nominations were received by the closing date on 5 August 2010. As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies, Peggy Clarke, Prof. David Dolan, Prof. Jenny Gregory AM and Assoc. Prof. Alistair Paterson have been elected for a three year term ending 2013.

9. Retiring Councillors

Dr Rosalind Lawe Davies and Dr James O'Shea retired as Councillors from the National Trust of Australia (WA) in 2010.

A vote of thanks be given to Dr Lawe Davies and Dr O'Shea.

Resolved

Moved: Prof. Jenny Gregory AM

Seconded: Dr Barrie Melotte

CARRIED

10. Notices of motion

No Notices of Motion have been received.

11. Any Additional Matters

Dr Barrie Melotte put forward a motion in recognition of the excellent output by the National Trust of Australia (WA) in 2010, with particular emphasis and congratulations on the magnificent staff effort.

CARRIED BY ACCLAMATION

12. Close of meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 5.25pm.