

2009

MINUTES OF 50th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the 50th Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held at Hellenic Hall, Church of St Constantine and Helene, Northbridge on Wednesday 4 November 2009 at 5.00 pm.

1. Welcome

The Master of Ceremonies Ms Shelley Withers welcomed members to the 50th Annual General Meeting and acknowledged the spirits and memory of the Traditional Custodians of the Land.

2. Present

Fifty members were noted as being present.

3. Apologies

The Secretariat informed the meeting of nineteen apologies which were received and noted.

4. Notice of Meeting

The Notice of Meeting was provided to all members in the May and August editions of WA News and Events that was mailed to all members.

5. Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

A copy of the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 5 November 2008 has been provided to members.

Resolved

The minutes of the 2008 Annual General Meeting of the National Trust of Australia (WA) held on Wednesday 5 November 2008 at Mary Lockett hall, Christ Church, Claremont be certified as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Prof Ross Dowling Seconded: Prof David Dolan

CARRIED

CARRIED

6. Presentation of Annual Report

The Hon John Cowdell, President, tabled the *President's Report for 2008-09*. **Resolved**

The Annual Report 2008-09 be adopted.Moved:Mr Max Kay AM CIT WASeconded:Mr Max Hipkins

7. Presentation of the Financial Statements

The Treasurer spoke about the Financial Statements for 2008/09 confirming that the statements received an unqualified report from the Auditor General. He also provided an overview of National Trust's financial position.

Resolved

The National Trust of Australia (WA) Financial Statements for the year ended 2008/09, be received and adopted.

Moved: Mr John Palermo Seconded: Mr Max Hipkins

CARRIED

8. Announcement of elected Councillors 2009

In accordance with Trust Rules Amendment No. 7 nominations were called from the membership to fill five vacant positions by the Western Australian Electoral Commission. The call for nominations was advertised in the West Australian Newspaper on 2 July 2009 advising that nominations opened on 23 July 2009. Four nominations were received by the closing date on 6 August 2009. As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies, Robyn Taylor, Michal Lew AM, John Cowdell and Graham Horne have been elected for a three year term ending 2012.

9. Retiring Councillors

A vote of thanks be given to Philida Preston and Christopher Vernon.

Resolved

Moved: Hon John Cowdell Seconded: Mr Max Kay

10. Notices of motion

No Notices of Motion have been received.

11. Close of meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 5.26 pm.

CARRIED